Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to make "breaking news" ticker ?

  1. #1

    How to make "breaking news" ticker ?

    Hi!

    Can someone please tell me how to make a scrolling "breaking news" ticker / text where we can write updates for live events ?
    --
    Kenneth WedMore Lund
    Living Smart TV

    TV: http://www.livingsmarttv.dk/

    YouTube => http://www.youtube.com/livingsmarttv

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    957
    You will need Live Text stand alone installed on another computer. Then you will find everything you need in the live text manual.
    E. Lee Dickinson | President
    Advanced Visual Production | sound.lighting.video.design
    www.avprva.com

    Tricaster 850, 460AE, and TC-1
    JVC GY-HM200u, Canon XLH1, Fieldcast and BMD Fiber

  3. #3
    Registered User Spacebacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Langley BC
    Posts
    149
    Could you make an animated ticker as a video clip with alpha?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacebacon View Post
    Could you make an animated ticker as a video clip with alpha?
    Not if we're thinking of the same thing, no - then you would have to render the clip and reimport it every time.

    We're looking for a way to put comments (and also tweets) on screen live .... preferably without spending yet another 1.000 dollars
    --
    Kenneth WedMore Lund
    Living Smart TV

    TV: http://www.livingsmarttv.dk/

    YouTube => http://www.youtube.com/livingsmarttv

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    957
    Quote Originally Posted by Living Smart TV View Post
    Not if we're thinking of the same thing, no - then you would have to render the clip and reimport it every time.

    We're looking for a way to put comments (and also tweets) on screen live .... preferably without spending yet another 1.000 dollars
    if it doesn't have to crawl, a png saved to the frame buffer would do the trick.
    E. Lee Dickinson | President
    Advanced Visual Production | sound.lighting.video.design
    www.avprva.com

    Tricaster 850, 460AE, and TC-1
    JVC GY-HM200u, Canon XLH1, Fieldcast and BMD Fiber

  6. #6
    Registered User Spacebacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Langley BC
    Posts
    149
    I use an external PC with LiveText for graphics, but the Tricaster has a titler, doesn't it? Can you animate graphics in that? Just have it scrolling right to left?

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,686
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacebacon View Post
    Can you animate graphics in that? Just have it scrolling right to left?
    Certainly can. Crawls and scrolls are exported as 32bit AVI files in this case.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    But you would then have to leave the tricaster, make the text, export it, enter tricaster, import it, right?

    How does that fit "Can someone please tell me how to make a scrolling "breaking news" ticker / text where we can write updates for live events ?"

    We would then have to go "ooops, sorry, we'll interrupt the live stream for now to update our crawler and be right back in a few minutes"........

    I think I get the point - either shell out another $1.000 for Live text 2 or forget the live updated text, right?
    --
    Kenneth WedMore Lund
    Living Smart TV

    TV: http://www.livingsmarttv.dk/

    YouTube => http://www.youtube.com/livingsmarttv

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    29
    You can setup a network folder share on the Tricaster, and drop files from another computer without having to stop your live production. We do it all the time, while streaming and even recording ISOs!

    Check out www.videohive.net. There are some amazing templates there, for example this one: http://videohive.net/item/broadcast-...package/459730
    Last edited by Dimitry G; 06-19-2012 at 10:40 PM.
    Dimitry Czar
    Co-Producer / Director
    [email protected]

    "The Mixing Lab" first Tricaster powered video DJ show live every Tuesday night 7p-12a PST on http://themixinglab.net

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,686
    Quote Originally Posted by Living Smart TV View Post
    But you would then have to leave the tricaster, make the text, export it, enter tricaster, import it, right?
    I was responding to this question: "Tricaster has a titler, doesn't it? Can you animate graphics in that?" You're correct that this method would not support live updates.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •