Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Render Farm and Nodes

Render Farm and Nodes

Hello Fellow Lightwavers, I'm New to starting out threads and I hope I can get some helpful answers for what I'm about to ask...

Question One : I have Been searching for many ways to go about building a small networked render farm for Lightwave, and I would Like to Know if anyone has such a set up and How can I go about putting one together. I am a PC user with AMD Processors... I am set to what I want to use but I just want to make sure that I invest on the required Hardware to set up a Render Farm for Five PCs. Any Help would Be greatly Appreciated and I would Like to thank everyone who responds ahead of time! 8),

Question Two : I have Lightwave 10 Educational Version but Im going to upgrade to the commercial version with 11. Does Lightwave 11 have unlimited nodes for rendering and is Newtek still using screamernet or have they updated their render farm application? Again I thank you all for your answers and your Help!

Sincerely, Faithful Lightwave User
    from the moment I got
    my hands on Inside
    Lightwave 9

There is quite a bit in the SN section. It's especially worthwhile reading Matt's tutorial on setting up SN, & it's worth more than that as it gives you a clear understanding of your network & SN. http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=26572

Remember-no-gaps-in_any_file_names! Most of us learn the hard way!

LW does not have unlimited nodes, so if you need more than a thousand nodes you will need another licence/s. (& a much better connection to the mains power!)

If your only purpose for the other 4 computers is render nodes, build the cheapest box you can possibly put together, eg built in graphics to set up the computer. If you are using a computer with a graphics card you can take it out once you have set up LW/SN as it doesn't need one & they only waste electricity.
    Last edited by JonW; 05-17-2012 at 03:00 PM.