Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Reducing poly count when bringing Sculptris models into Lightwave

  1. #1
    Registered User THREEL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bryan
    Posts
    1,226

    Question Reducing poly count when bringing Sculptris models into Lightwave

    Does anyone have any experience bringing Sculptris models into ? The poly count seems to be enormous on the model I built. So large, that it seemed like I couldn't even reduce the poly count, after I imported it into .
    THREEL, but you can call me AL.
    John 3:16
    Psalm 14:1
    Philippians 2:9-11

  2. #2
    Lightwave Pimp Skonk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    1,451
    From any sculpting app you would generally export out the object with the lowest possible subdivision level, along with displacements maps and then import that low res model into lightwave and use the displacement map to put the detail back in.

    I've not used sculptris but I would assume it's a similar process.
    uh wha?

  3. #3
    Keep hitting that reduce button!! Or the mesh reduce brush.

    But yeah, you are going to have issues getting a reduced object out of Sculptris.

    Like the program, somewhat, but boy, it's funky getting something complicated quickly out yet small.

  4. #4
    Well Sculptris has it's own reducing routine that it's applied globally. I don't know how well it respects detail though.

    You can also load you mesh in Meshmixer and use the Volume nuΔ- brush to really pick where you want less detail. Brush parameters like Streght, Size and Reduce will play a role.
    Use it on a backup because normally Sculptris is very picky with meshes and sometimes I can't send MesmMixer sessions back to Sculptris.

    Another option would be to forget the Big Mesh entirely, make a retopo in some app and bake the details with something like xNormal (free and awesome)

    Cheers

  5. #5
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    see if google replies to something named "Meshlab" ..

  6. #6
    /\ Probably the best solution. Good application.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Not sure how sculptris works, 3D-Coat has either global decimation while you work, a decimation brush, or you can decimate at export time. I assume sculptris must have one of these.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  8. #8
    Super Member geo_n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    jpn
    Posts
    4,677
    PLG plugin has poly reduction that even keeps uv and weightmap intact.

  9. #9
    Does it? I haven't seen that one. I do use qemLOSS 3 a lot though which does the same.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  10. #10
    Super Member geo_n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    jpn
    Posts
    4,677
    Yep it does. Good for reducing heavy evermotion models.

  11. #11
    PLG is a great tool, It does a great job at keeping the UVs intact and making your objects very light. It has a ton of control too. Be aware tho that it can produce errors here and there with thin long polygons, it also makes triangulated meshes that are quite chaotic that will be difficult to displace or bend with bones and hard to edit if you want to make changes later.

  12. #12
    Super Member Snosrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    4,923
    modo has a great retopo toolset.

  13. #13
    the free method >
     
    Lightwave plugin - SketchMesh
    http://youtu.be/33nm8eWa0eI

    then import back to Sculptris to do the texturing...


    (though the 30 day trial of 3DC would be a great alternative...)
     
    Last edited by erikals; 05-08-2012 at 01:39 AM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  14. #14
    Of course Modeler can have trouble with meshes that are too big. You'd probably be lucky that load a 3m poly mesh and still be able to use it.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  15. #15
     
    yep, i wouldn't try this on any machine... i have a 3.5GH i7, and it's still slow...
    Lightwave is not exactly known for it's OpenGL poly speed... :]
     
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •