Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 199

Thread: I hate the Node Editor

  1. #106
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    When you're plugging Const > Scalar 1.0 to Diffuse Shading Color, result is complete white - so scalar was copied to all RGB..
    Thanks Sensei. Good news.

    I suppose there must be a short table somewhere that shows how different output types are interpreted by clashing input types.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  2. #107
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    Quote Originally Posted by Lewis View Post
    This is NODE compound thing screen I was talking about. User friendly version (view) for Artists and Advanced view (inside of compound) for those who like to do all this math "thing" on their own or even want to change it (math behind material) for some reason .


    --

    eeeehhH ! .. Nostalgy ..

    does it work today yet , or was an old screen ?



    --

    other than the above comment , i dont want to comment more on this topic .

    sends me 3 and more years back .

    nai thanks .

  3. #108
    3D Junkie Serling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Walled Lake, MI
    Posts
    780
    Quote Originally Posted by lazyanimator View Post
    just to summerise -

    I realise I dont have to use it. I want to use it, but find it overly complicated. Clearly I dont actually hate the node editor, I just dont get on with it that well, kind've like my brother in law (no, only joking Nat!).

    Thanks to everyone for joining in this light hearted conversation.
    Since most of my surfacing lately has involved little more than UV mapping (which used to be as much a mystery to me as the Node Editor appears to be to you), I don't really get to play with nodes much.

    The problem with nodes isn't the nodes themselves: it's all the permutations and infinitesimally small tweaks you can spend hours on without ever really achieving anything close to what you want to see.

    Ultimately, it's all just trial and error for me and that's a miserable way to work when you have to get something done under deadline. I generally avoid the node editor unless I'm only doing a couple of nodes max. Anything beyond that, and I find it's quicker and easier to stick with the layered approach.
    Six-time Emmy award-winning news and special projects editor.
    http://www.myfoxdetroit.com/story/20...years-at-fox-2

  4. #109
    Super Member dwburman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    2,880
    Quote Originally Posted by jeric_synergy View Post
    Thanks Sensei. Good news.

    I suppose there must be a short table somewhere that shows how different output types are interpreted by clashing input types.
    Something like...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	NodeInputChart_SurfaceandRendering_LightWave_10_pdf.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	88.7 KB 
ID:	104130  
    [mr] Dana W. Burman | http://dwburman.com
    Motion Graphics for sale at Pond5 Stock Footage
    Check out my tutorials at Liberty3d.com & my YouTube channel!

  5. #110
    Quote Originally Posted by zarti View Post
    does it work today yet , or was an old screen ?
    Works just fine (I'm still using it for some model showoff 'coz of speed), it's fresh screen .
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  6. #111
    Axes grinder- Dongle #99
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    14,732
    Quote Originally Posted by dwburman View Post
    Something like...
    Nice.

    Looks like I better look up "CCIR 601".

    +++
    Oh, I see where I got my misconception: I had it BACKWARDS. When a vector feeds a scalar, only the first value is used. The other two are dumped.
    They only call it 'class warfare' when we fight back.
    Praise to Buddha! #resist
    Chard's Credo-"Documentation is PART of the Interface"
    Film the cops. Always FILM THE COPS. Use this app.

  7. #112
    Super Member Captain Obvious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4,502
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    Do you find Lscript/Python artistic friendly? You can load scripts made in them, then change whatever they contain. You have flexibility..
    But you can't ignore the fact the same plugin compiled in C/C++ will run hundred times faster. That's fact.
    I have replaced many Lscript with equivalent in C/C++ and people using previously script were "shocked by speed"..
    One 'easy' work-around for that: Have a built-in compiler.

    That's effectively how the node-based Renderman shader editor works, I believe: you hook up nodes and save it out as a shader, and the editor compiles it into Renderman shader code.

    Nice and optimized machine code, generated on rendertime. It shouldn't be that difficult.
    Are my spline guides showing?

  8. #113
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Obvious View Post
    One 'easy' work-around for that: Have a built-in compiler.

    That's effectively how the node-based Renderman shader editor works, I believe: you hook up nodes and save it out as a shader, and the editor compiles it into Renderman shader code.

    Nice and optimized machine code, generated on rendertime. It shouldn't be that difficult.
    thats not 'a work-around' . thats usual business .

    --

    when building or testing shaders with a lot of nodes( im not referring to RM )renderspeed is the same but just the compiling extra time gets added . once you are pleased and have built its ui controls , you compile it definitively as a version , and use that to work as an artist and render final scenes . So , you have the Compound , Lewis was talking about .. and 0 milliseconds of delay because of the nodal complexity or whhatewwa . everything else is Mythology ..

    peace !

    --

    final opinion ; you betah love nodes . they do make sense .

  9. #114
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,898
    If Renderman .slo is readable by either Windows, Macinotosh and Unix it's not real compiling to machine code, but pseudo-code that's later interpreted while rendering.
    See how Java works.

  10. #115
    Registered User ArtGoblin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Iceland/Norway
    Posts
    809

    what ever does that mean?!

    Well...this question has a very obvious answer, and just as Douglas Adams would have explained it... the dreaded "why" questions, you could go on asking them forever but when it all come down to it there's only one real answer. And this is the case with your questions of "why" this and "why" that, and even though there have been made many very good and logical answers to your questions, you keep on asking. "Why" is that? Well I'm guessing it must be becouse you don't feel you have the answer you seek, but let me finish this one up for you.....
    Quote Originally Posted by lazyanimator View Post
    Sorry I dont understand why would one need a million shaders?
    Why not?

    Everything worth any damn isn't easy, making art no matter how creative an individual is, is still hard work... so if you want to use the advantages the node editor can give you, get to it and don't give up... it might just be worth it
    Last edited by ArtGoblin; 05-06-2012 at 04:44 PM.

  11. #116
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    @ Sorry I dont understand why would one need a million shaders?

    i believe it is not a matter of billions or trillions ..

    it is a matter of a single one principle : to be free .

  12. #117
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelHill View Post
    Im honestly not suggesting that what seems natural to one should be the same for all... But there are certain fundamentals which ARE the same for everyone, everywhere. What is up, what is round, what is blue? These things are just as natural to everyone.

    My point about "I point to a 'spot', ask colour etc" was simply this...

    Thats ALL the spot info node is... if u understand that basic idea, then u DO understand the spot info node, even if u dont realise it.

    Really, all Im trying to do is get an understanding of where your understanding is failing in the hope that maybe I can help you out, plug the gap, whatever.
    Oh, there's plenty to get confused about, regarding the spot node, if you're not thinking in correct node form from the start. The most basic one, I constantly get is, "So the spot gives me the info on a point. I can query it for light incidence and add 3 to it. Now I made this web of 500 nodes to try to make a loop so it will do it for each and every point. Now how do I plug all this into a single surface input?"

    So it's not really the "spot info" node itself that gives "procedural people" trouble. The trouble is in the concept how to use a node that queries a point when they think in terms of step-by-step procedural programs, loops and logic forks.
    Last edited by Ernest; 05-06-2012 at 09:28 PM.

  13. #118
    Registered User speismonqui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    522
    Quote Originally Posted by zarti View Post
    @ Sorry I dont understand why would one need a million shaders?

    i believe it is not a matter of billions or trillions ..

    it is a matter of a single one principle : to be free .
    a million? that's insane. It's more like 2294
    http://www.vray-materials.de/all_materials.php
    Dell XPS8700 Quad Core i7 [email protected] - 16 GB DDR3 - GeForce GTX 750ti - Windows 10

  14. #119
    Super Member JonW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    2,235
    I think this cartoon says it all.

    Layers or Nodes!.....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Layers or Nodes.jpg 
Views:	123 
Size:	113.0 KB 
ID:	104138  
    Procrastination, mankind's greatest labour saving device!

    W5580 x 2 24GB, Mac Mini, Spyder3Elite, Dulux 30gg 83/006 72/008 grey room,
    XeroxC2255, UPS EvolutionS 3kw+2xEXB

  15. #120
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by silviotoledo View Post
    Hey Matt

    What about curved lines connections between nodes?
    The squared ones overlap when accessing the same connectors.
    'tis done.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •