Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Thread: Upgrade info from 850 to 855 info

  1. #16
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,919
    Quote Originally Posted by adebats View Post
    Am I taking it that upgrades the the 450/850 (I think I remember Steve mentioning 4d was on the way) will now stop and so the quicktime soliution and backup solution will have to be bought ?
    Maintenance updates of rev. 4 will continue. to the best of my knowledge. Generally, updates don't introduce major new functionality though.

    One thing maybe worth clarifying - I don't think the new Restore feature can be added easily as a field upgrade. I'll make some inquiries to see whether upgrades will include that (it's possible some arrangement has been made don't know).
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  2. #17
    Octopus Switcher D3Cast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Marblehead, MA
    Posts
    309
    "Please note that older TriCaster 850 models may require special handling and will be considered on a case-by-case basis."

    How is "older" defined? If one is looking at the "Hardware Version" screen on an 850, is there a property there ("Board" version or "Driver" or "Core" or something) that easily marks it as "older", or is it a serial # by serial # basis?

    -steve

  3. #18
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,919
    Quote Originally Posted by D3Cast View Post
    ... is it a serial # by serial # basis?
    Basically, yeah, I think so. It's by no means a fixed rule, but speaking generally, if your system was, bought, say - a month or more after NAB 2011, it's probably a 'newer' one. That's just a loose guide, though, they'll be able to tell you more accurately when you inquire.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #19
    Octopus Switcher D3Cast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Marblehead, MA
    Posts
    309
    Thanks as always, Steve!

  5. #20
    Registered User digiview's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Encounter Bay SA
    Posts
    369
    Hi All,
    I have offered an upgrade kit by my dealer from 850 to 855 and they say
    "In this case, the upgrade is not a machine replacement. It is a front plate changeover and a dongle with the firmware update".
    The new 855 has esata an port which I really need and my 850 has 1394 firewire would the update include esata port? Would this also include the new Restore feature?
    Is there any way that I can tell if my 850 is suitable for this upgrade?
    Thanks

  6. #21
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Digiview,

    Talk to your dealer. If you have a 1394 port on the back of your 850, it can't be upgraded by software. You will need to trade in the box.

    Excuse the bad grammar, but see: http://www.savweb.com/2012/05/digite...grade-details/.

    Edit: Just noticed you're in EMEA. YMMV.
    Last edited by csandy; 06-11-2012 at 09:33 AM.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  7. #22
    Registered User Spacebacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Langley BC
    Posts
    149
    Can the 855 record more than two channels in QuickTime format?

    We had nothing but problems recording just one QuickTime channel, so I'm a little hesitant about this upgrade.

  8. #23
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,919
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacebacon View Post
    Can the 855 record more than two channels in QuickTime format?
    Quicktime is the default capture format now. 855 can capture 8 channels simultaneously. That said, a) capturing Quicktime should never have been problematic (not aware of any related bug reports), but b) it's not the same Quicktime encoder as before.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  9. #24
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacebacon View Post
    Can the 855 record more than two channels in QuickTime format?

    We had nothing but problems recording just one QuickTime channel, so I'm a little hesitant about this upgrade.
    Yes. I've recorded all 8 on mine and it works great. The 850 Extreme can't record more than 4 quicktime channels simultaneously. If you're having a problem recording less than 4 quicktime channels on your 850 extreme, you should call 1-800-TOASTER.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  10. #25
    Registered User Spacebacon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Langley BC
    Posts
    149
    We did all the upgrades and had a ticket with customer support, but it was never resolved. I just gave up on it and resorted to MP4 recording.

    That said, the company who installed it didn't really know much about it, other than how to connect to it. We have since hired somebody else (who is recommending the 855).

  11. #26
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacebacon View Post
    We have since hired somebody else (who is recommending the 855).
    That is the recommendation I would make to my clients.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  12. #27
    Mobile HD Rig for Rent
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    I live in Sacramento, but work in Merced
    Posts
    34

    Corrupt .EXE Upgrade File???

    We were so exited to upgrade to the 855 today, but dang it, install file appears to corrupt. If you run into ,'this software is not compatible with this version of Windows' you may have a corrupt install file. Newtek is working on getting us a new file.
    Shawn Bockoven
    http://www.metv.ws

  13. #28
    Registered User ted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    4,216
    Sorry to hear that Shawn. :cursing:
    I know you have a big show coming up. Was NewTek able to overnight a new one to you?
    Ted R. Ruiz Sr.
    Ad-Venture Video Productions
    Elite NewTek Dealer
    www.editbay.tv
    TriCasters, Most All Models
    Cameras-Mostly HVX 200's

  14. #29
    Mobile HD Rig for Rent
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    I live in Sacramento, but work in Merced
    Posts
    34
    There was to be an FTP version uploaded this afternoon, but I have yet to receive an email with a link or instructions. This is like getting Christmas gift, but having to wait for the stores open to buy batteries. ;-)
    Shawn Bockoven
    http://www.metv.ws

  15. #30
    Mobile HD Rig for Rent
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    I live in Sacramento, but work in Merced
    Posts
    34
    Downloading now.... WooooooHooooooo!!!
    Shawn Bockoven
    http://www.metv.ws

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •