Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Can Bullet be applied to Instances?

  1. #1
    Registered User Remoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Darwin Australia
    Posts
    126

    Can Bullet be applied to Instances?

    I need an object instanced say 200 times.
    Then bullet applied and they drop onto a bouncy floor.

    So, can Bullet be applied to instances?

    Remoc

  2. #2
    I tried it on my current project but it didn't seem to break apart the object "parts" correctly. I may have just missed something as I didn't have time to mess with it.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  3. #3
    Super Member sublimationman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    517
    I asked this not long ago and the answer was no, it does not work.

  4. #4
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    You can bake instances to objects with a python script found in the script/general directory. Select the object that got instanced and run the script. Now your instances will show up as normal object so you can do a save transformed or something like that.

  5. #5
    That's good to know, I was wondering about converting instances to objects recently.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Posts
    936
    may not directly relate, but I was able to come up with a technique using bullet to solve the dynamcis on proxy objects and then replaced with instance rendering. You can find a little more here: http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=126313

  7. #7
    Registered User Remoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Darwin Australia
    Posts
    126

    Yes I found it Thanks

    The path to the python script is from the top Newtek directory

    \support\plugins\scripts\python\layout\generic\bak e_instance.py

    Thankyou

    Remoc

  8. #8
    Registered User Remoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Darwin Australia
    Posts
    126

    Instances baked but as individual object

    Ok, I successfully baked the instances. ( cool )

    But I now have hundreds of individual objects.
    This makes it hard to apply Bullet to them all.

    Is there a way I can combine the objects into one object.
    Then I would need to apply bullet ( parts ) to only one.

    Thanks in advance.

    Remoc

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    822
    hm, try to send the objects to modeler and cut and paste all the objects in one layer, then use parts for bullet.

    i did not know about that script, really cool thanks for the tip...
    My Portfolio - http://alexs3d.blogspot.com - Now with Photography

  10. #10
    Nice guys, thanks!

    I guess we could also replace the instaces with a point, then use those in other apps etc .. Very handy for millions of instances.
    Model: MacBook Pro 10.6.4 - 2.66 GHz - 4GB - NVD GF GT 330M
    Render: Win7 64 - Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz - 8GB

  11. #11
    Space Monkey 3DGFXStudios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,121
    there's also a script out there that saves all selected objects to one single object. http://www.lwplugindb.com or maybe someone posted it here on the forums.

    Scroll down to S and you'll find some nice save scripts http://www.chrisepeterson.com/v2/lscripts
    I don't think this is the best one in your case but it makes things a lot easier.
    SaveTransformed is a nice script for example. Load all the objects back into modeler and save them a one single object.
    Last edited by 3DGFXStudios; 03-27-2012 at 04:37 AM.

  12. #12
    Big fan of coffee raw-m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,338
    LWs View/Layers/Collapse Obj in Modeller will do it too, with a few more options to play with as well.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •