Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast
Results 241 to 255 of 260

Thread: DP Instancer

  1. #241
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Yes absolutely, a report with reasonable content is better to figure things.

    Denis.
    maybe I can send you a scene and you can take a look and see what the issue is. I think its a big in the instancer. If I use nulls and target constraints the instancer will work, if I use worley motion plugins, it will work, if I try and use bones and targets or IK, it wont.

  2. #242
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    argh, something up with postings. making duplicates.

  3. #243
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    maybe I can send you a scene and you can take a look and see what the issue is....
    Yes and if the scene has heavy mesh, replace by proxy.

    Denis.

  4. #244
    Hi Denis or anybody reading this,

    Here's one that I came across today. My guess is its an opengl render issue. I have posted two pics below.

    When I load a scene which shows fine [as in the 2nd pic] The next time I load it I get what is seen in the 1st pic. When loaded in again, my LW interface display shows what is seen in the 2nd pic attached below. If I move the render window either over to, or back to the opposing window, the LW interface screen renders normally as in the second pic. Expanding the render window to full screen seems to help, but not always.

    This is using LW 2015.3 btw.

    I have not tried the scene with LW2019 yet and not sure if it will fix the issue.

    Any guess what is causing this to happen and how to fix it?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sample Image 1.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	323.7 KB 
ID:	145843   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sample Image 2.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	282.1 KB 
ID:	145844  
    Last edited by JamesCurtis; 08-30-2019 at 08:28 PM.

  5. #245
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesCurtis View Post
    ...Here's one that I came across today. My guess is its an opengl render issue…
    Weird OpenGL issue, because partial and texturing only,
    I suppose wireframe is correct?
    I saw myself several issues along different versions since LW11.

    Denis.

  6. #246
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    that reminds me, is wireframe shaded difficult to do
    for instances? as it just has shaded.

  7. #247
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    You may also have different results with global preview selection and/or plugin preview selection,
    but this is rendered by Layout not the plugin and we can only report issues for the current version of Lightwave.

    Denis.

  8. #248
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Yes and if the scene has heavy mesh, replace by proxy.

    Denis.
    I sent you an email with a link. thanks.

  9. #249
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Weird OpenGL issue, because partial and texturing only,
    I suppose wireframe is correct?
    I saw myself several issues along different versions since LW11.

    Denis.
    They are bone animated models and are not too heavy in poly's , originally from Poser and fbx export. The scene loads fine first time, upon next load it craps up as seen. Wireframe mode shows only the unmodified t-pose and is not good in this case for animating of the instances. I'll try a new version of the Nvidia graphics driver.

    Btw, is there an easy way to do time-offset animating of models, that doesn't involve having to manipulate hundreds of bones manually?

    Also, is there a way to randomly color instanced models so they don't all have exactly the same coloring? The project I'm working on needs several different bodies, but they share the same time-offset motions. I seem to think I read in the 2015 manually regarding this, but not recalling for sure.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  10. #250
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    I sent you an email with a link. thanks.
    Please don't use PM of this forum,
    but my email address specified at the bottom of the readme file or Web page.

    Denis.

  11. #251
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Please don't use PM of this forum,
    but my email address specified at the bottom of the readme file or Web page.

    Denis.
    yes, i did this. I used the one on your website. your pm here is full, like mine

  12. #252
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by JamesCurtis View Post
    .. is there an easy way to do time-offset animating of models, that doesn't involve having to manipulate hundreds of bones manually?...
    In the LW Instancing system (for native or DP Instancer)
    time offset works only with transformation never with displacement including bones,
    so with an uni-mesh character no other way than using several animated skeleton poses or time shifted MDD.

    ... is there a way to randomly color instanced models so they don't all have exactly the same coloring?
    In the surface node editor of the mesh reference, use the Instancer Info node (DP Kit tab for DP Instancer)
    plug Index/ID as seed in Random node for whatever variation you need in your surface setup,
    color, scalar etc..
    i.e a random scalar in a 0-360 range values can vary color
    in the hue input of the Color Tool node.

    Denis.

  13. #253
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    I sent you an email with a link. thanks.
    ...testing your scene, I can confirm this issue,
    I first verified the hierarchy option, time offset (panel or nodal) with Time World coordinate mode
    and it works with a simple setup,
    I tested an instance with native generator with your "SUPPORT" object as reference
    hierarchy, time offset and equivalent Parent coordinates, it fails too (LW2015),
    with the same mesh part.

    It seems that part not working is animated by parenting it to a bone
    belonging to an IK chain, which could explain why we get nothing
    in our transformation requests in Layout ( this step is ignored in World coordinates
    but necessary for Time World aka Parent coordinates)

    So no sure to be able to fix this myself.


    Denis.

  14. #254
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    a place
    Posts
    1,857
    is there any way to inherit transform of the parent?

  15. #255
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,056
    Quote Originally Posted by gar26lw View Post
    is there any way to inherit transform of the parent?
    If you bend the bone02 (the parent) and key, instead of IK
    should inherit!?

    Denis.

Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •