Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 260

Thread: DP Instancer

  1. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by D-Lab View Post
    Hi,

    VLC reads the video without problem...

    Tchao
    Don't know VLC, and this is not the subject,
    no support with video.

    Denis.

  2. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    466
    Hey Denis,

    nothing about Instancer nor about video support, just VLC.

    I can't believe you don't know VLC player so I have to educate you

    VLC player is an Opensource play all formats player. With VLC you don't need to install Divx/xVid, Realplayer, Quicktime etc and you still can play all those videos and more. You can use it to play .ogg and .ogv files etc. You can even play .flv files without flash installed. It plays DVDs and AFAIK even BDs.

    It's worth knowing and using.

    http://www.videolan.org/

    try it. You won't be disappointed

    Greetz
    Kevin "K-Dawg" Reeves

  3. #48
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by K-Dawg View Post
    ...I have to educate you...
    Excuse the lack of humor,

    I know that I'm a dinosaur here,
    no skype, no video, and limited configuration,
    I don't care of any kind of reproach
    about my support and the classic way
    to communicate, I mean.. words?

    Remember that we are testing both an Instancer
    and the LW Instancing system, see one of the report
    above and wait for LW11 SP1.

    Also the win64 versions have been compiled with
    the pre-release SDK and it seems that
    there's no guaranty of a perfect compatibility
    with the final release, sorry no news on this
    subject.

    Denis.

  4. #49
    Registered User Tonttu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Taikametsä
    Posts
    313
    Is it possible to instance in surface mode with the same kind of orderliness as with points mode, but more tightly (and evenly) packed? Like if you have a basic sphere and want to cover it completely with some small ornaments, but not in a randomly distributed fashion.

  5. #50
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonttu View Post
    Is it possible to instance in surface mode with the same kind of orderliness as with points mode, but more tightly (and evenly) packed? Like if you have a basic sphere and want to cover it completely with some small ornaments, but not in a randomly distributed fashion.
    Did you try to relax the Surface Distribution?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	relaxsphere.gif 
Views:	71 
Size:	158.6 KB 
ID:	102428

    For Lanscape type surface, there's also the Distribution node,
    you can project an evenly distanced distribution on an axis basis,
    see on the DPI doc.

    Denis.
    Last edited by dpont; 03-08-2012 at 01:22 AM.

  6. #51
    Registered User Tonttu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Taikametsä
    Posts
    313
    I'm trying to replicate the Tesla Wardenclyffe tower, see how the "mushroom cap" top is knobbed with spheres: http://www.kevreid.com/tesla/tesla_w...fe_smaller.jpg
    The relaxed distribution looks a bit different.

  7. #52
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Tonttu View Post
    ...The relaxed distribution looks a bit different.
    ..because this is not a relaxed Surface distribution,
    looks like a Polygon distribution.

    Denis.

  8. #53
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    Quote Originally Posted by tajino View Post
    I'll try it on my oldest single core WinXP32 machine and see if it crashes. Will report back.
    tajino! You should click that Windows crash report.. details.. there is information which module crashed (DLL/EXE), and where it crashed (Offset) and what kind of issue it is. Good programmer can just find faulty line of code just by examining that info. But you need to show it..

  9. #54
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    ...You should click that Windows crash report.. details..
    Useless in this case, as I know this has been fixed
    for LW11 SP1.

    That said I have seen many crashes involving a module
    which is not directly guilty, just a clue for further
    investigations.

    Denis.

  10. #55
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    It looks like on video that LWInstancerHandler->Evaluate() has been called while VPR was still running and rendering old image. Evaluate() destroyed LWInstanceID (going from higher to lower quantity), and LW started using already freed memory..
    If it's correct thinking, allowing to finish VPR with all refinements (watching Task Manager), and then entering new quantity, should not cause crash.

  11. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    Quote Originally Posted by Sensei View Post
    It looks like on video...
    Tajino's video? or Dee's?
    Tajino's one is solved, don't even know what's reported Dee.

    ...allowing to finish VPR with all refinements (watching Task Manager), and then entering new quantity, should not cause crash.
    I suppose that your comments went for NT Dev?

    Denis.

  12. #57
    TrueArt Support
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    7,900
    I didn't see dee's report either.. he packed it in rar, which I don't have..

  13. #58
    Registered User Tonttu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Taikametsä
    Posts
    313
    Just to conclude my problem, I think I will first manually place one upright row of points on the cap surface, evenly distributing them like I need and then radially clone the row of points and then use this point cloud for instancing! Thanks for the plugin anyway, keep rocking

  14. #59
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,054
    DP Instancer version 1.05 for win32 and win64,

    Instance orientation was inversed along the normal in some cases, with
    the "To Polygon Edge" alignment.
    -When Instances were totally disabled in the node editor, they wasn't
    created again when needed.
    -Faster Random mode with Point and Polygon Distribution, however the resulted distribution will be different compared to previous versions.

    Denis.

  15. #60
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,014
    Dennis, you are the worst enemy of capitalism!

Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •