Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Will there be fixes to LW 10.1?

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    493

    Will there be fixes to LW 10.1?

    Simple question NewTek.

    Will there be any fixes made to LW 10.1 for those people who chose NOT TO UPGRADE?

    I would also like to see the SDK have access to the additions that were made to that version like the Virtual Studio/ 3DConnexion interfaces so that other devices can be added to that version as well.

    Or can we just expect that NewTek will forget about any fixes for that version?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    135
    I would imagine not. As with most applications, when the new version comes out the older versions are typically deprecated.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by bpritchard View Post
    I would imagine not. As with most applications, when the new version comes out the older versions are typically deprecated.
    Well not for some companies. They do provide fixes to their older versions and LW 10.1 is not that old.

  4. #4
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    It's unlikely. NT have been pretty clear that 10.1 was the last of the 10.x cycle. I only remember one time when a fix for a previous version was provided despite a newer version being available (7.5d when 8.0 was available; 9.6.1 was a little different - see the OpenBeta forums for that situation).

    Nonetheless, these were exceptions to an already established pattern for NewTek and I've seen nothing to suggest that they are planning anything like this again.
    Inactive.

  5. #5
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,057
    Any fixes to 10.1 are in LightWave 11, it's kinda how it works, sorry.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek

  6. #6
    "Indie" Game Artist GandB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,285
    Any fixes to 10.1 are in LightWave 11, it's kinda how it works, sorry.
    Nice.
    When you know you're a "cup half-full" kind of guy:

    "Sir; they've got us surrounded!"

    "Excellent! Now we can attack in any direction!"

  7. #7
    Grafiks iz us dsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,862
    It could be worse. They could be Adobe
    http://www.petapixel.com/2011/11/16/...to-cs5-owners/
    Dan Sollis : Independent CGI Designer & compositor
    Digital Distortion : Post Production for Film and Television
    http://www.digitaldistortion.net

    http://www.londonlightwave.org.uk/

  8. #8
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    Quote Originally Posted by dsol View Post
    It could be worse. They could be Adobe
    http://www.petapixel.com/2011/11/16/...to-cs5-owners/
    Now that's lame... stock holders want to make a profit though...

  9. #9
    Adobe does it AGAIN! They did this to me before they offered the Creative Suite.

    "Sorry, Photoshop CS is a different product, no free upgrade"
    please power off before disconnecting connecting connectors

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Any fixes to 10.1 are in LightWave 11, it's kinda how it works, sorry.
    You mean "it's kinda how NewTek works".

    There are companies that will provide fixes to previous versions of their software. I know, I happened to work for one.

  11. #11
    Super Duper Member kopperdrake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,148
    Quote Originally Posted by beverins View Post
    Adobe does it AGAIN! They did this to me before they offered the Creative Suite.

    "Sorry, Photoshop CS is a different product, no free upgrade"
    I think Photoshop is one piece of software I can afford to miss two, three or even four full upgrades on and not really miss anything. I think they're probably shooting themselves in the foot doing this, in today's climate. At the moment an agency might skip a couple of upgrades and jump to the latest, but if they're forced to pay every year for the latest version, then they'll either do that and pay every year - expensive, or work out how many years they need to keep the old version until it's worth upgrading the package for a brand new version (and keeping/selling the old license as well). I think many will choose to sit on old versions and wait for several years before a brand new purchase.
    - web: http://www.albino-igil.co.uk - 2D/3D Design Studio -
    - PC Spec: Intel i9-7940X @3.1GHz | 64Gb | 2 x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11Gb | Windows 10 Pro -

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by gclayton View Post
    You mean "it's kinda how NewTek works".

    There are companies that will provide fixes to previous versions of their software. I know, I happened to work for one.
    Haha, even PTC releases new cuts of older versions of ProE/Creo with fixes.

    Go Newtek.

  13. #13
    J.D.Lowe ShadowMystic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    453
    Quote Originally Posted by kopperdrake View Post
    I think Photoshop is one piece of software I can afford to miss two, three or even four full upgrades on and not really miss anything. I think they're probably shooting themselves in the foot doing this, in today's climate. At the moment an agency might skip a couple of upgrades and jump to the latest, but if they're forced to pay every year for the latest version, then they'll either do that and pay every year - expensive, or work out how many years they need to keep the old version until it's worth upgrading the package for a brand new version (and keeping/selling the old license as well). I think many will choose to sit on old versions and wait for several years before a brand new purchase.
    I think this is how my college works.

  14. #14
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899
    Adobe's upgrade policy changes looks to be suite wide, not just confined to PS. There's banter that Adobe is looking more for subscription-based licensing rather than permanent licensing, which doesn't work for me. I think it's a bad move but hey, it's their company.

  15. #15
    Super Member LW_Will's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Somewhere, Out there...
    Posts
    1,188
    Quote Originally Posted by dsol View Post
    It could be worse. They could be Adobe
    http://www.petapixel.com/2011/11/16/...to-cs5-owners/
    Ah... the Autodesk Upgrade path. A slow death march into +$1000/year.

    Two things going for Newtek, 1) It is slight cheaper and 2) there is real honest to gwod reason to get the upgrade. Actual things under the hood that'll get you better work coming out of your program.
    Will Silver
    Animator
    digital TRiP
    "Frak'em all! I USE LIGHTWAVE!"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •