Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 850 Extream H264 Recording/Playback problem

  1. #1
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114

    850 Extream H264 Recording/Playback problem

    Hi Folks
    How do you edit a H264 file from the TriCaster 850 Extreme? Wont edit in Speed edit on the tricaster, plays back in all different speeds and then flashes black frames. I have tried on a bunch of different editors and all have problems
    Last edited by ottis41; 11-13-2011 at 06:21 PM.
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  2. #2
    That F4V file isn't really designed to be edited. You can convert it and then edit, MPEG streamclip should do it.

    Otherwise you can flatten it with ADOBE F4V POST PROCESSOR and then work with it. It's been a while since I have had to edit FV4 so there may be other solutions out there too.

  3. #3
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114

    850 extream and H264 problems

    I didnít know the H264 was a flash file from the 850 extreme, i thought it was an MPEG4 file.
    I recorded the program and 3 ISO cams in the TriCaster at H264 high quality (itís right there in the drop down list for recording options) and itís a format not to be edited? Heck I canít event play it back in speed edit correctly or a DDR. Why have a recording codec that you canít do anything with?
    I will try stream clip, as I have tried 5 different editors and a conversion program and report back
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  4. #4
    I'll have to check my 850, I don't recall seeing that H.264 option, but mine is not an extreme unit. So I may be off base.
    Last edited by rally1; 11-14-2011 at 11:17 AM.

  5. #5
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Quote Originally Posted by ottis41 View Post
    I didnít know the H264 was a flash file from the 850 extreme, i thought it was an MPEG4 file.
    I recorded the program and 3 ISO cams in the TriCaster at H264 high quality (itís right there in the drop down list for recording options) and itís a format not to be edited? Heck I canít event play it back in speed edit correctly or a DDR. Why have a recording codec that you canít do anything with?
    I will try stream clip, as I have tried 5 different editors and a conversion program and report back
    I'll record a couple of test clips in both H.264 qualities and test with Premiere, FCP and SpeedEdit tomorrow. Unless someone can test and confirm today?

    Take care,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  6. #6
    Yep, my error. Only the Extreme does H.264, which I haven't used, someone else will have to jump in and educate us both.

  7. #7
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Yep, H.264 as well as Quicktime recording options are available on the Extreme models record settings.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  8. #8
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114
    Thanks Guys we are continuing to work on these files in both Mac and PC, converting to multiple formats and getting the same issue of studded frames, at least when you convert the multiple speed issues in the clips are not there, but they still are not acceptable, to me it almost looks like itís a progressive frame and to a Drop frame issue. The file inspectors say 29 frames, it does not say 29.97, and maybe could that be the issue. I know I read in another post that not all clips recorded in the tricaster will play back correctly in speed edit (thatís fine) but what editor will they play in?
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  9. #9
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Quicktime info is not always accurate. If you have FCP, use it to tell you the info on the clip.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  10. #10
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114
    Still no luck on the files, NewTecK support phone lines are busy and the wait is 20 min or longer. I think tomorrow Iíll sit on the phone till i can talk to someone. Iím in a loop and itís no fun. There has to be an answer to this problem
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  11. #11
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    Note we only support recording one h.264 stream at a time. If you recorded 3 and ignored the warnings most likely the files are missing frames.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  12. #12
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114
    Yes i was only recording one stream at a time to each one of the drives (i seen the warning when you try to record more than one per drive)

    I called Newtek and the donít know why the files recorded with skipped frames ( and it is all 700 of them) and that if i have tried converting them in other editors or event speed edit and they still play back that way then they were recorded that way and there is not fix that will help the play back at 29.97.. UGH

    Bummer for me and the crew, we have to shoot the show over again, i donít think we will be using H264,we will go back to MPEG2 and we may get some other hard disk recorders for our studio witch is another bummer because thatís what the TriCaster 850 extreme is all about and why we bought it. Kind of like having a Cadillac but not being able to drive it
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

  13. #13
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    The limit is one H264 stream at once not per drive.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  14. #14
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,652
    Zane is correct. H.264 encoding is cpu intensive. We do permit you to exceed the recommendation, but it's on a 'user be warned' basis. You might get away with it or not, depending on what else is happening at the same time.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  15. #15
    Editor Audio/Video ottis41's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Royal Oak MI
    Posts
    114
    Thanks guys
    EZ dose it, but do it!


    GSC
    N-Media.net

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •