Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Randomness between polygons sharing a surface

  1. #1

    Randomness between polygons sharing a surface

    Ok, I hope that title accurate describes what I want...

    Basically, I have a building with windows, and I want to crack those windows. I have found a node which does the job, and gives the cracked appearance I want, except I would like a bit of randomness between the window panes. In doing so, I would also like to have all windows use the same surface (i.e. "Small Window"), as the building has over a hundred windows, giving each one its own surface (or even group windows to several surfaces) would be a bit of a pain in the rear.

    I'm using the Cell from the IFW nodes collection. I've tried using various outputs of the Spot Info and other like nodes into the Vary and Seed inputs of Cell, no good.

    If you look at the attached render, you can follow the crack lines from one window to another, which ruins the effect.

    Anyone know how I could possibly accomplish this?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	closeup.jpg 
Views:	204 
Size:	290.9 KB 
ID:	99363  

  2. #2
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    You can do this with dpont nodes kit. There is a node called partinfo under displacement section I think. Plug that into the position input of your cracked node and you should have a good starting point.
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  3. #3
    Thanks cagey5, but unfortunately the lines are still continuous across polygons whether I use oPos or wPos as the input.

  4. #4
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    Hmmm. Not at my computer so can't do a step by step, but I'm sure that's what I've used previously.

    You are using the partinfo item id output into the procedural position input yes?

    And this is the dpkit partinfo not spot or item info?
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  5. #5
    Cow Orker cagey5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    3,273
    Attached is a quick image to demonstrate the effect on an array of rectangles. All one object/layer in modeller with a single surface. You can see the simple node set-up I used, using the veins procedural as an example.

    Hope that helps.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Domino Rnd Surface.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	77.4 KB 
ID:	99397  
    Forum Tips
    If English is your first language, you should know it's 'losing' and not 'loosing'!

  6. #6
    Thank you cagey5. Sorry, I've been a little busy. I'll have to play around with it. I was not getting any randomness even with the Part Info node, maybe its the node I was using as the destination.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,044
    For surfacing, you should use the Index output of the Part Move node,
    if your window glasses are made with one polygon only,
    the Polygon Number output of Extended Spot Info node (DB&.W)
    is faster for varying your procedural.

    Denis.

  8. #8
    Is it possible to use an image map and have it placed randomly on a surface?
    I have a 30x30 surface divided into 900 polys. I want an image map to be irregularly placed all over it. I'm trying to make random foot prints in the snow.
    iMac 27" Quad Core 2.8 i7
    ATI Radeon HD 4850, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,044
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamer View Post
    Is it possible to use an image map and have it placed randomly on a surface?
    I have a 30x30 surface divided into 900 polys. I want an image map to be irregularly placed all over it. I'm trying to make random foot prints in the snow.
    Image Bombing?

    Denis.

  10. #10
    I don't know what image bombing is. I want to take one paw print and have it randomly placed on a surface. Something like this example.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	random image.png 
Views:	79 
Size:	65.2 KB 
ID:	100274  
    iMac 27" Quad Core 2.8 i7
    ATI Radeon HD 4850, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,044
    Image Bomber does something like that,
    check RmanCollect on my site.

    Denis.

  12. #12
    Thanks, I'll try it now.
    iMac 27" Quad Core 2.8 i7
    ATI Radeon HD 4850, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

  13. #13
    LW just crashes when I use the Image Bomber node at default settings.
    iMac 27" Quad Core 2.8 i7
    ATI Radeon HD 4850, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,044
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamer View Post
    LW just crashes when I use the Image Bomber node at default settings.
    Doesn't crash here, both Texture and Node versions
    as texture layer color or as node setup connected in nodal surfacing,
    though I'm testing on win32,
    could you post your setup?

    Denis.

  15. #15
    I'm just using this image on a plane. All settings are default.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PB_paw.gif 
Views:	81 
Size:	64.8 KB 
ID:	100282  
    iMac 27" Quad Core 2.8 i7
    ATI Radeon HD 4850, Mountain Lion 10.8.2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •