Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Skype integration

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    88

    Skype integration

    I work for a church and we are connecting to our 3 satellite campuses via skype. We would like to know if we can use Skype on the Tricaster TCXD300 computer and integrate it via PIP.

    Can Skype run on the Tricaster computer in the background and send program A/V as well as receive A/V?

  2. #2
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,214
    You will need to use a separate PC to receive the Skype video/audio. Then you can take the video to your TriCaster via iVGA, audio via analog out of the PC to the inputs of the TC or your audio console. If you don't know how or don't like iVGA then use a DVI to SDI convertor from BlackMagic Design. Simple easy and cheap. You end up eating up an input but the quality is very nice.

    Take the program audio and video out of the TriCaster and feed it back into the Skype computer via an inexpensive capture card/usb/firewire adapter so the remote person can see and hear what is going on at the master campus.

    Hint Hint: Use a Virtual input to crop and scale the Skype input into a PIP or Virtual Set 2Up even.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    88
    Extremely helpful thank you!!

  4. #4
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    I want to add that I make sure to return video to the Skype computer otherwise I get what I call the Stevie Wonder affect. The person, not seeing you, forgets they are on camera and think they are on a voice only call. This makes for constant reminders to them to please look at their camera. I use Black Magic Decklink or Intensity Pro.
    Also get the person on Skype to purchase a headset or a lav mic. Most people use the webcam mic or the built-in computer mic and it sound horrible.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  5. #5
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    The mic on Microsoft's HD webcams are actually very good. The auto focus will drive you nuts though.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  6. #6
    From Browser To Broadcast jmmultex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Trenton, NJ
    Posts
    458

    Regarding the audio feed you send back to the remote Skype location...

    You will probably want to do a mix-minus on the audio feed you send back to remote Skype location - you don't want to send them back the audio they are sending to you. Even if feedback isn't a problem, the slightly delayed audio a person hears of themselves speaking can be really problematic, and make it difficult for the speaker to focus on what they are saying.

    Best
    John
    John Mahoney
    GNURAL NET, Inc.
    Trenton, NJ 08691

    [email protected]
    http://www.gnuralnet.com

    Gear:
    Gnural Net LiveToAir, TC1, TC1LP, MDS1, TC8000, Cameras: NDIHX-PTZ1, PTZ Optics ZCAM 20x

  7. #7
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    No probably about it, do a mix minus.
    Here two Skype computers were used so two mic minus;
    http://worldsciencefestival.com/webcasts/fabric
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    139
    very well done, jose
    Regards,
    Alan

  9. #9
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,333
    Thanks
    I handled the Skype and Chris, my son was the op (he is a freelance op taught by a highly ranked TriCaster master)
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sheridan, WY
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by joseburgos View Post
    I want to add that I make sure to return video to the Skype computer otherwise I get what I call the Stevie Wonder affect. The person, not seeing you, forgets they are on camera and think they are on a voice only call. This makes for constant reminders to them to please look at their camera. I use Black Magic Decklink or Intensity Pro.
    Also get the person on Skype to purchase a headset or a lav mic. Most people use the webcam mic or the built-in computer mic and it sound horrible.
    do you use the intensity in the skype computer or in the tricaster?

  11. #11
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by dkinskey View Post
    do you use the intensity in the skype computer or in the tricaster?
    Never, ever, ever try to put a third party i/o card in your TriCaster. You will be very unhappy. José means in the other PC.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  12. #12
    Registered User David Curle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    92
    I use Skype a lot in my virtual set situations
    I use the Y/C output of the laptop into a Y/C Input on the Tricaster -No problems and simple-But you need a laptop with Y/C out.
    I don't use iVGA as the Tricaster needs all the uplink bandwidth it can get to stream, so I cant use a router to get Skype to laptop right?
    So I have a separate modem feed to laptop (separate network)

    I pull my control Booth monitoring output from the jack sockets of output.
    I pull the studio foldback feed from the Phones socket,
    Then I SOLO the Skype audio input and DDRs so that only skype and DDRs feed the studio fold back - No talent mics on foldback.
    Then I swing the Skype pan control hard left so I only receive skype on the left input. On the send back to Skype Guest I put only right output of total program.
    This eliminates all feed back problems just fine without having to use a separate mixer.
    I use a midi mixer to remote control my Broadcast Tricaster with Young Monkey software-This gives me a remote control surface

  13. #13
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    That's a clever way to do a mix minus, David!
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  14. #14
    Registered User steveacab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    3
    You need another pc too.
    Connect Y/Cs or BNCs, set in the virtual-switcher the imput, open in full-screen mode skype, done.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •