Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Particle help - offset saved motion

  1. #16
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080
    The EASIEST way to retime and reposition a PFX is to install DPont's DP_Kit (if you haven't already). Then add Particle Scan to the emitter (Obj Prop. > Deform tab > Add Displacement), set its options to save as MDD (to default vertcache folder in content dir - make one if not there), do the scan, disable it AND the PFX plugin, add MDD_Emitter (Geometry tab > Add Custom Object ), load just-created MDD file, in its options enable Key Move and to retime, enable Remap and create envelope as desired (I believe you set time = 0 key to 0 and desired start key = 1 and to stepped, or speed up/slow down by using 0 to 1 ramps).

    A side benefit to using an MDD-converted PFX is you get single-pass motion blur when attaching instances. Sadly, however, HVs still require multi-pass MB.
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  2. #17
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,137
    Thanks for the info Chrusion. I really appreciate it. Even after working with Lightwave for 17 years there is still a lot I don't know.

  3. #18
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080
    You're welcome.
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  4. #19
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,137
    Chruson, I followed your directions and I am able to use the DP Motion Designer plugins to create an MDD of the file. However when using the MDD_Emitter I can not move the particles around. They seem to be locked to the place that they are recorded. Moving the object around has no effect on the particle position. Am I missing something or is that just the way it works?

    Thanks,
    -Joe

  5. #20
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080
    Did you set Key-Move to On? I just loaded up a scene with MDD Emitter and can move the particle sim anywhere I want with this option On.
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  6. #21
    skeptic lertola2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,137
    Quote Originally Posted by Chrusion View Post
    Did you set Key-Move to On? I just loaded up a scene with MDD Emitter and can move the particle sim anywhere I want with this option On.
    That is it. Thanks.

  7. #22
    This thread saved my life. Thanks.

  8. #23
    Super Member Boris Goreta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    1,358
    Life saver too, thanks !

  9. #24
    Medical Animator mummyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    1,069
    Yes, this is one of those things that you forget how to do because sometimes you don't always have to do it. After I bake out a .pfx file.. I go into a new empty scene.. add a new null then apply the baked motion and offset the keys. I've been stuck on forgetting to reset the null to 0,0,0 as well. So I keep a "working" scene in case I want to alter the pfx file. Then a new "baked" scene. I'm sure I'll have to refer back to this thread eventually too! Nice that it's helping us a few years later..

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •