Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 850 Extreme backup scenario, have a hardware panel to select your 850TW sources

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    107

    850 Extreme backup scenario, have a hardware panel to select your 850TW sources

    I'm thinking of this setup, with two goals in mind:

    • create a backup switching solution if the 850 fails
    • as a bonus, have a matrix, and a hardware panel to choose your replay sources for 850TW


    What do you think?

    These are the prerequisites:



    How would I create the setup?

    • connect each SDI source to the BMD matrix inputs
    • connect the BMD outputs to the TC
    • input 8 on the TC850 Extreme is it's failover input: if the TC850 fails completely, this input will be looped through to the TC850 Extreme PGM out (or so the manual says ...)
    • you could make HD SDI signals of the interface and multiview outputs of the TC and bring them into the BMD Videohub
    • expand the BMD Videohub with a hardware panel which switches on the output that goes to input 8 on the TC
    • if the TC fails completely, you can still switch sources using the BMD hardware panel (or with their iPad software for that matter)
    • use the same hardware panel (or iPad software) to switch inputs on that TC input 8. Use input 8 as the source for the 850TW controlled DDR (where you record for slomo's). This way you would have a hardware input switcher for the slomo operator to choose which camera he wishes to record for slomo's.


    I think adding a central matrix/router to your TC setup, and adding this workflow, greatly enhances the possibilities of the TC. This setup gives you an emergency switcher (which in case your sources are genlocked, will switch without visible glitches) in case the TC goes down completely, and gives you a hardware panel for your slomo operator to choose its sources.

    And I believe bringing the UI monitors of the TC in the router, gives you a lot of extra's too: you can distribute your multiview to several positions: one for the TD/director, another for the slomo-guy, ... as far as SDI-cable takes you!

    What do you guys think? Or would this be overkill?

  2. #2
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,214
    Overkill.... Ha.
    Planning for a problem is never overkill.

    We have been doing this exact type of setup for the last couple years for our clients and also for the NewTek trade shows even. Patch everything into the BMD router and then use it to distribute out the feeds.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    La Plata
    Posts
    34
    Hi, some months after this post was started, but we're now starting to think about getting a Matrix Router. My question is if there is a router that gives you the posibility of converting an HD input to SD (of course routers are not my speciallity). The usual problem is that most screens at the events here in Argentina are still SD so we have to use the AUX out set to "composite", but that reduces the chance of sending different feeds to many screens... Any idea?
    Tricaster: 850 Extreme
    Cameras: Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HVR Z5 & Z7
    Cable: SDI coaxil

  4. #4
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,214
    Quote Originally Posted by multishow View Post
    Hi, some months after this post was started, but we're now starting to think about getting a Matrix Router. My question is if there is a router that gives you the posibility of converting an HD input to SD (of course routers are not my speciallity). The usual problem is that most screens at the events here in Argentina are still SD so we have to use the AUX out set to "composite", but that reduces the chance of sending different feeds to many screens... Any idea?
    You would need to use a format convertor and hang it off one of the router's outputs. The FS1 by Aja is the most popular in broadcast circles. BMD does make a Up/Down Cross converter that would work too.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    La Plata
    Posts
    34
    I was hoping that wasn't the only chance, but I didn`t find what I was looking for anywhere. I will have to invent one!!!
    Tricaster: 850 Extreme
    Cameras: Sony PMW-EX3 / Sony HVR Z5 & Z7
    Cable: SDI coaxil

  6. #6
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,214
    You could always buy 2 Tricasters.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •