Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 63

Thread: LightWave 10.1 Available Now

  1. #1
    NewTek - VP Marketing
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    64

    LightWave 10.1 Available Now

    Hi all,

    Find the announcement about the release of LightWave 10.1 here.

    Let the discussion begin.

    Donetta

  2. #2
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    first post... xD sorry, I rarely get to do that... continue.
    -----------------------------------
    Music and sound design
    www.soundcloud.com/virix

    graphic arts
    dreamcube017.deviantart.com

    Creation begins at the core.

  3. #3
    Not to scale BlueApple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Los Estados Unidos
    Posts
    1,026
    The release document says that FiberFX has been improved in this version. Can anyone speak to just how improved? Extra credit if you've tested it on a Mac
    Adam Martin
    my portfolio
    Mac Pro 2x3Ghz Dual-Core Intel | 8 Gb RAM | OS 10.6.8 | ATI Radeon X1900 XT

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueApple View Post
    The release document says that FiberFX has been improved in this version. Can anyone speak to just how improved? Extra credit if you've tested it on a Mac
    Improved enough that some high profile productions are now using it from what I understand.
    Threadripper 2990WX, X399 MSI MEG Creation, 64GB 2400Mhz RAM, GTX 1070 Ti 8GB

    https://www.dynamicrenderings.com/

  5. #5
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,399
    A couple of new resource posts for LightWave 10.1:

    Known Issues Post: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121206

    FiberFX Workflow Notes: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121205

    Each has a link to a discussion thread.
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc., Vizrt Group
    [url=http://www.newtek.com][b]NewTek.com[/b][/url]
    [URL=http://www.lightwave3d.com/][b]LightWave3D.com[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.facebook.com/newtekinc][b]NewTek USA Facebook[/b][/url]
    [url=http://twitter.com/NewTekInc][b]Twitter[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.linkedin.com/company/newtek][b]LinkedIn[/b][/url]
    [size=1]Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker :)[COLOR="DarkOrange"]
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.[/COLOR][/size]

  6. #6
    NewTek Social Media Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6,399
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueApple View Post
    The release document says that FiberFX has been improved in this version. Can anyone speak to just how improved? Extra credit if you've tested it on a Mac
    Download the "LightWave_10_1_Whats_New_PDF.zip" from Registration, for a good illustrated summary of the changes.
    Chuck Baker
    Senior Manager of Communications
    NewTek, Inc., Vizrt Group
    [url=http://www.newtek.com][b]NewTek.com[/b][/url]
    [URL=http://www.lightwave3d.com/][b]LightWave3D.com[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.facebook.com/newtekinc][b]NewTek USA Facebook[/b][/url]
    [url=http://twitter.com/NewTekInc][b]Twitter[/b][/url]
    [url=http://www.linkedin.com/company/newtek][b]LinkedIn[/b][/url]
    [size=1]Software Developer's Dilemma: The better the new feature, the more feature requests it will generate. - C. Baker :)[COLOR="DarkOrange"]
    Please note that any statements regarding future product development are forward looking and subject to change without notice.[/COLOR][/size]

  7. #7
    gold plated 3D Chrusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Chatannooga, TN
    Posts
    1,080
    Can the LW x64 code base/architecture be developed to run 32-bit plugins? If not, why not? Win x64 happily runs 32- and 64-bit applications side-by-side and 32-bit drivers within its 64-bit "house." This ability would negate the need for developers to rewrite/recompile their pre-64-bit LW 32-bit plugins and opens up LW to a major portion of old 32-bit plugins that may never see the 64-bit light.

    Just asking as I haven't seen it asked before and it seems that if OS's can do it, why not LW? Of course, I know nothing about app programming v. OS programming.
    .
    Dean A. Scott, mfa
    Senior 3D Animator and Graphic Design Illustrator, @ Astec, Inc.
    Owner / Lead Artist @ chrusion | FX

  8. #8
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,290
    Quote Originally Posted by BlueApple View Post
    The release document says that FiberFX has been improved in this version. Can anyone speak to just how improved? Extra credit if you've tested it on a Mac
    Sorry, no Mac experience to report but FWIW I posted a little info about my own take on the new FFX here:

    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpos...32&postcount=9

    In brief: direct dynamics support, motion vectors, better brush tool, improved render quality even in motion, and better stability with VPR and just more stable in general. Still no way to save and load guides data in it's own file or as a preset but you can at least export the guides as a regular .lwo. More features and details described in the post.

    There's still room for improvement but IMO it's finally ready for production work.

    G.

  9. #9
    Banned OnlineRender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow , Scotland , UK
    Posts
    6,383
    thought that was always the goal "stability!"

  10. #10
    LightWave Fan Boi
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, England, UK
    Posts
    1,198
    Blog Entries
    18

    Is it CUTE?

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenlaw View Post
    There's still room for improvement but IMO it's finally ready for production work.

    G.
    That's all well and good Greenlaw, but is it cute? For the love of God man, is it CUTE?!

  11. #11
    Eat your peas. Greenlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,290
    Quote Originally Posted by Shabazzy View Post
    That's all well and good Greenlaw, but is it cute? For the love of God man, is it CUTE?!
    Trust me, you can use FFX to make anything look cute.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,013
    hope to see some examples soon guys. Some of you who've had the beta for a while must have something??... pretty please?

    The motion vecotr thing for FFX is certainly very welcome news and I'll be interested to see what improvements volumetric fibres have had.

    Hopefully newtek will make a trial version of 10.1 (currently only 10.0 as I understand) before the end of the offer

  13. #13
    I'm a Registered User monovich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rocky Mountain High
    Posts
    1,526
    I'm pretty excited they spruced up fiber FX and that people are actually starting to say that its production ready. I've literally NEVER used it, but now I want to swing back around and give it a shot.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,141
    Yah-hooooo!!
    "Once one can articulate an important idea into a concise statement, then one can use the statement and not have to have the fear of changing behavior." - Ed Catmull on Pixar creativity

  15. #15
    Kamehameha Chameleon BigHache's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Future Past Life
    Posts
    1,899
    I used it for a Christmas stocking and a Santa hat and got decent results, but that was in the 9.x cycle. I haven't touched it in the 10.x yet.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •