Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: simple question on people using two monitors

  1. #1
    3kings lreyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    254

    simple question on people using two monitors

    I have seen some desktops that some guys are using have two monitors, please tell me what is the advantage of using two monitors? I have one computer and one monitor, my computer has has 12 gigs or RAM and using windows7 professional, using lightwave 9.6. and Zbrush 4.0

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    More screen space.

    Just off the top of my head:

    You could put all your floating windows on one monitor and maximize Layout on the other.

    If your modeling you could load up all your reference images on one monitor and keep Modeler open on the other.

    You can keep Netflix on one monitor and keep working on the other.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  3. #3
    Newbie Member toddd240's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    73
    Once you have been operating in a dual monitor environment it is painful to work without it.

    I work quicker because of the extra desktop space. Less clicking back and forth.

  4. #4
    Yeah, I got a widescreen to replace my two 19" monitors. Mistake.
    I LIKE the separate estate of two monitors.
    Layout on one, modeler on the other with all panels on the opposite monitor. Really nice management of all the panels one can open with LW. And dock snapping. B&M* I'll not do now, I suppose...
    Last edited by UnCommonGrafx; 06-27-2011 at 08:55 PM. Reason: *B&M = B1tching and Moaning
    Robert Wilson
    i-7-4770k @3.5ghz, Titan, GTX 1660 Ti, et al

  5. #5
    Animated Fool paulhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    758
    What NickDigital said... The closest I can get to a "unified app" at this point is to have Modeler, with menus and panels open on one screen and Layout, with panels open on the other screen. I have been using two monitor for a VERY long time and can't imagine any other way, even for other programs. I have two 1920x1080 ASUS monitors now, for the what I paid for one monitor three(3) years ago, great technology.
    An eye for an eye, and the whole world goes blind... Gandhi/MLKing
    Greater consciousness is worth the effort. Be aware.... so sayest the Animated Fool ~ HARTWORKS www.hartworks.net

  6. #6
    Running at 29.97 fps Titus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    2,839
    Dual screen is bad for attention span, but helps when you are reading some tutorial, watching references, etc. My friend has one of the monitors in vertical position.

    I like to edit video in two monitors at the same time. That's basically the only time I use all the real state with onw program.

  7. #7
    Registered User a sandwhich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    between the bread
    Posts
    148
    I can think of a dozen situations where having two monitors has been handy. Usually I have the main focus program running on one and then three or four reduced windows running in the other, unless I am getting serious about work. After effects on one, premiere on the other. Layout on one, modeler on the other. gvim on one, webpage with api on the other. Or a relaxing favorite, cs:s on one, itunes on the other. It is about multitasking and seeing what you are multitasking.

  8. #8
    I don't have it, but for one thing for sure is handy. Graph Editor!

  9. #9
    Floating member Traveler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    375
    Having to switch programs using alt-tab or by using the taskbar kills your workflow. Being able to watch a video tutorial on one screen and duplicating the actions on the other is a major advantage.

  10. #10
    After work a little time on 2 monitor you never will wan to to return to single.
    A lot of situation where need 2, but about lw I use first monitor (first I have in front of me) for layout and modeler (swithc with tab), and second for panels. (I don 't use one for layout and one for modeler because when working I need to have the head "inline", I can't work with head turned).

    I think now I need 3 monitor... I feel the work will be more good (the wall in front of me I want!)

  11. #11
    3kings lreyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    254
    NOw that I found out why two monitors, my next question is....how do you hook two monitors to a single computer and single keyboard...do you have to do something special to the computer to operate two monitors?

  12. #12
    Registered User zardoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,819
    I use two monitors and I like it more than one widescreen because of the window snapping in windows 7. I can move windows from one screen to the other and snap them at the top.
    You just need a graphics card with two connections. And windows will use the two monitors space as one space only, but windows can still see that instead of one monitor you have two, this way you can move windows between the two.
    Intel Core i7-4770 @3.40GHz,GeForce GTX 660 - Ram 8Gb - Win 8.1 64b

  13. #13
    Banned OnlineRender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow , Scotland , UK
    Posts
    6,381
    I cant use a single monitor these days ,even on 21" , I need my two monitors ,all the work Gets done on the left ie have blender open and on the right would be PhotoShop or equvilant app

  14. #14
    Banned OnlineRender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow , Scotland , UK
    Posts
    6,381
    Either 2 grahpic cards or like me if you have 2 OUTPUTS on the 1card

  15. #15
    3kings lreyes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    254

    dual monitors question from last post

    Thanks for the info on why two monitors. My graphics card does support dual monitors, but my question is that I have one vga and one dvi connection at the rear of my computer. I am using my dvi now, but if I get a monitor will it have a vga cable or do I have to convert a dvi to vga and also will the vga monitors look as sharp as my dvi monitor? or do I have to have a graphics card with two dvi connections?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •