Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 244

Thread: 1001 ways to use LW and Blender together

  1. #91
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    241
    in the matter of fluids .I want to show you a technical test i did in 2008 for a short film when i work for chamán studios.This is modeled and animated in Lightwave,fluids calculated in blender and rendered back in Lw (lw 9.5).
    Basically shows the solution that we found for a typical scenario in the short film: an rigid and dinamic surface in constant collision with a fluid. Sounds common ,but not all the cheap solutions can manage this, even at this time.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Carlos Puebla
    //TD 3d Character Artist.

    ncpuebla (arroba) gmail dot com

  2. #92
    Any of you fluid peeps know why my fluid particles might explode like this?

    http://screencast.com/t/BvrdfFkLvb

    BTW Carlos, that's pretty cool.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  3. #93
    nice clip lightmann :]
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  4. #94
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Any of you fluid peeps know why my fluid particles might explode like this?
    Not too sure, but it looks like a high number. Did you try reducing generate to 1? I remember reading somewhere to treat the particle generation with caution and them being scene and resolution dependent.

    I guess it back to trial and error. There seems to be very little in the way of information on the fluids in Blender - the best I've seen is the CMI VFX video, but it doesn't cover any of the exotic stuff like control fluids or time reversal etc...
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  5. #95
    Turns out it was related to subdivisions for some reason. If I have it set to 3 it explodes, 1 or 2 is fine.

    My problem now is that my fluid splashes, then some of it lands on this invisible "shelf" in mid air.
    Video: http://screencast.com/t/i3GKOxrx4
    Last edited by Philbert; 09-07-2011 at 12:37 PM.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  6. #96
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Turns out it was related to subdivisions for some reason. If I have it set to 3 it explodes, 1 or 2 is fine.
    Worth knowing about! Cheers

    Do you need to use subD though? - LW can do that part when you import
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  7. #97
    Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    My problem now is that my fluid splashes, then some of it lands on this invisible "shelf" in mid air.
    Video: http://screencast.com/t/i3GKOxrx4
    what happens if you change the resolution of the fluids to 200 ?
    it must be a bug... of some sort...
    Last edited by erikals; 09-07-2011 at 01:26 PM.
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  8. #98
    Quote Originally Posted by erikals View Post
    what happens if you change the resolution of the fluids to 200 ?
    Well it takes a couple hours to bake so I'll have to wait to find out. lol I did bake it pretty high over night last night and I think I had the same result.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  9. #99
    heh... :]

    well, i made a post here... :]
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/foru...nd-Simulations

    (takes a while for my post to show, apparently all new posts go through a moderator first)
    "yiiikes!" :0
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

  10. #100
    Yeah I posted there too, still waiting for mine to show as well.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  11. #101
    OK a little quicker than I thought. It looks nice but I srtill have the "shelf" issue.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  12. #102
    Does anyone know how to import the fluid particles with the Splotchdog plugin? Chris's tutorial over there doesn't really explain that.

    BTW I think I meant to include this link in the above post. My shelf issue seems to have fixed itself.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKxVz6XBSbM
    Last edited by Philbert; 09-08-2011 at 11:38 PM.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  13. #103
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Does anyone know how to import the fluid particles with the Splotchdog plugin? Chris's tutorial over there doesn't really explain that.
    I think your meant to use the particle import plugin in the deform tab.
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

  14. #104
    Thanks I emailed Chris and got that info, I never would have looked there though. Now I just have to stop the fluid mesh from being upside down. It's easy enough to flip it, but the particles were correct so if I flip the mesh, now the particles will be upside down.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  15. #105
    Lightwave junkie stevecullum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Reading UK
    Posts
    3,137
    Now I just have to stop the fluid mesh from being upside down. It's easy enough to flip it, but the particles were correct so if I flip the mesh, now the particles will be upside down.
    can the particles be loaded onto a seperate null?
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

Page 7 of 17 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •