Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 55

Thread: LW10 on Linux/Wine

  1. #31
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by DBMiller View Post
    Just trying this out and got 2 errors so far. At the point in the instructions where it says:
    #> rm ~/.wine ~/wine.bak (backup your previously wine dir)
    #> wine regedit -s sentinel_wine32.reg (~/.wine dir generates automatically)
    #> cp sntnlusb.sys ~/.wine/driver_c/windows/system32/drivers/,
    I get this error:

    [email protected]:~$ rm ~/.wine ~/wine.bak
    rm: cannot remove `/home/donald/.wine': Is a directory
    rm: cannot remove `/home/donald/wine.bak': No such file or directory
    [email protected]:~$ wine regedit -s sentinel_wine32.reg
    err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"mountmgr.sys": libusb-1.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    err:winedevice:ServiceMain driver L"MountMgr" failed to load
    regedit: File not found "sentinel_wine32.reg" (2)

    Any ideas what I'm doing wrong to this point?
    Thanks

    Yep, thanks for feedback !

    You don't need this step (sorry): rm -r ~/.wine ~/.wine.bak

    You need install libusb-1.0.0 package too...

    #> sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0.0

    Thank you again, a will correct the how-to now.
    Last edited by Oleeblood; 05-07-2011 at 12:49 PM.
    Oleeblood Animation
    http://www.oleeblood.com

  2. #32
    Super Member DBMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    1,142
    Cool, thank you.
    Mac OS 10.10.5 Yosemite, 2.66 GHz Core 2 duo, 4 GB RAM,ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro

  3. #33
    What about plugins (esp DP Kit, DP Instance, Poms Nodes) etc…?

    Can they be installed also?

  4. #34
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by AbstractTech3D View Post
    What about plugins (esp DP Kit, DP Instance, Poms Nodes) etc…?

    Can they be installed also?
    Yes, plugins work fine too.

    There is limit the memory. 32bit version can handle only 3,8 GB, but the performance is same as 64bit !
    Oleeblood Animation
    http://www.oleeblood.com

  5. #35
    Banned OnlineRender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Glasgow , Scotland , UK
    Posts
    6,383
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleeblood View Post
    Yes, plugins work fine too.

    There is limit the memory. 32bit version can handle only 3,8 GB, but the performance is same as 64bit !
    Newtek this man deserves a medal for getting it onto Linux platform .

  6. #36
    There is limit the memory. 32bit version can handle only 3,8 GB
    Still better than 32 Bit Windows Version, which can only do 2GB per process.
    Yes, my Avatar shows a volume rendering...
    VoluMedic Creative Edition only USD 299 !
    www.volumedic.com

  7. #37
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    33

    Lightwave Win64 on Linux

    Hi !


    Yes, yes, yes... !!
    I have a great news: You can run Lightwave Win64 version with wine64 under Ubuntu Linux 64bit too (with original dongle) !!!! So, there aren't any limits...
    I will publish the tutorial and packages on this week.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.png 
Views:	106 
Size:	477.0 KB 
ID:	95504  
    Oleeblood Animation
    http://www.oleeblood.com

  8. #38
    borkalork BORKALORK! biliousfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lowestoft, UK
    Posts
    2,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Elmar Moelzer View Post
    Still better than 32 Bit Windows Version, which can only do 2GB per process.
    Actually, the 32bit version run under Windows 64bit OS can use 4gb.

    I'm curious...

    1) What were the problems with Win7 in the first place? It is by far the most stable version of Windows I've used even though XP64 was/is pretty solid

    2) Why do you feel that XP64 is faster than Win7 64? The only times I've known of that to be the case is when people started fiddling with the memory management features to make it run in the same way as XP...the classic cries of, "Win7 is using all my RAM" spring to mind.

    3) What benefits are to be expected over running Windows software via a Windows emulator on Linux rather than just running it through Windows?

    I can see the benefit with regards to costs (ie. no MS licences) but not with regards to usability or performance. I am, however, not a Linux user so have no knowledge of how Wine works exactly but it seems like it's massively overcomplicating things just for the sake of it.

    ...native Linux LW for render nodes on the other hand....

  9. #39
    Actually, the 32bit version run under Windows 64bit OS can use 4gb.
    Yes, I was talking about the 32 Bit Windows version (comparing 32 Bit OS to 32 Bit OS).
    Windows 7 is driving me insane. The memory management sucks. We work with very large sets of monolithic data and Windows 7 is doing a good job at having us do workarrounds to make it work. You can not swap part of a 2.5GB dataset. If it does not fit into main memory completely, then we have a problem and catching that is really hard thanks to the memory management in Windows Vista and Windows 7.
    The other stuff that is driving me insane are the security features of Windows Vista and 7, which effectively lock me out of my computer and prevent me from deleting data, even when I am a super administrator. Sorry, but it is my computer and I should be the boss and if I want to delete a file, no matter what file it is, I should be damn able to do that.
    On Linux, I have a lot more low level access and control. I never thought that I would say that, but with Vista and Windows 7, Linux is starting to look really interesting.
    I loved NT 4.0, 2000 and XP64, I hate Vista and Windows 7.
    Yes, my Avatar shows a volume rendering...
    VoluMedic Creative Edition only USD 299 !
    www.volumedic.com

  10. #40
    borkalork BORKALORK! biliousfrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Lowestoft, UK
    Posts
    2,488
    Quote Originally Posted by Elmar Moelzer View Post
    Yes, I was talking about the 32 Bit Windows version (comparing 32 Bit OS to 32 Bit OS).
    Although Wine is 32bit it is being run on 64bit Linux, I'd guess that is why it can access 3.8gb. My understanding is that the 2gb limit is a restriction of 32bit operating systems as a whole so Wine must be somehow working in a similar way to Windows when running 32bit apps on Win64.

  11. #41
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,762
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleeblood View Post
    Hi !


    Yes, yes, yes... !!
    I have a great news: You can run Lightwave Win64 version with wine64 under Ubuntu Linux 64bit too (with original dongle) !!!! So, there aren't any limits...
    I will publish the tutorial and packages on this week.
    Please do so! I'm dying to try it.

    Thanks so much in advance.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

  12. #42
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    33
    Hi !

    You can find wine64 packages & How to here: htp://lwonlinux.oleeblood.com

    Goog Luck,
    Oleeblood
    Oleeblood Animation
    http://www.oleeblood.com

  13. #43
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,762
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleeblood View Post
    Hi !

    You can find wine64 packages & How to here: htp://lwonlinux.oleeblood.com

    Goog Luck,
    Oleeblood
    Thank you so much. Really. I'll try it this very afternoon.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

  14. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleeblood View Post
    Hi !

    You can find wine64 packages & How to here: htp://lwonlinux.oleeblood.com

    Goog Luck,
    Oleeblood
    Thank you, just downloading ubuntu now to give it a go.

  15. #45
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    1,762
    It works!

    I'm using Xubuntu x64 (it's the regular Ubuntu 11.04 but using Xfce as the desktop environment.) I've only tried LightWave 10.1 64-bit build 2121.

    It seems to work OK besides a few shortcuts that aren't working. I need to configure my system so it doesn't interfere with LightWave's. But VPR, HyperVoxels, rendering, switching from Layout to Modeler and back... everything fine. I tried to model something simple for a while and nothing went wrong. It saves objects and scenes well too.

    So this weekend I'll try to spend some time with it to know if it's ready for production. But so far I'm impressed. Thanks!

    Edit: By the way, there's a couple of confusing steps in the how-to pdf that would be useful to correct. I managed to get it right nonetheless but for someone else could make things unnecessarily hard. I'll try to post my suggestions before monday if it's OK.
    Last edited by allabulle; 05-27-2011 at 05:14 PM.
    Salut!,
    Allabulle.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •