Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Plug-In Missing... Scene Editor (LW10)

  1. #1
    Tone Bank Jungle
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago, USA
    Posts
    4

    Plug-In Missing... Scene Editor (LW10)

    Just got this error message from Layout...

    "No plug-in of type MasterHandler found with name SceneEditor. Would you like to load it from disk?"

    Scene Editor is grey'd out and only Classic Scene Editor is accessible. I tried to reload from my hard drive (Program Files/New Tek/ LW10.0/ Support/ plugins/ Utility/ ScenEditor) which then I get another error...

    "Plug-in file (same as above) is currently in use and cannot be replaced."

    Does anyone have any idea how this happened and how to fix it?

    Many advanced thanks.

    D

  2. #2
    oh corks
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    end of the line
    Posts
    888
    Huh. I don't even have LW10, but as nobody else has offered any suggestions...

    I've no idea how it might have happened and I've never seen it before... but there's a couple of things you can at least try.

    Edit your menu layout and simply try to repoint the button at the plugin. That'll probably do nothing, so, next...

    Edit your menu layout and point that button at a different function temporarily. Close and restart Layout, then try adding the plugin (maybe it won't think it's already in use this time if you've unlinked it from the button and restarted). Then repoint your button back to the plugin and see if it works.

    If this all does nothing, then it's time to reinstall LW. If that does nothing then you'll just have to talk to Newtek support.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    241
    did you try scan plugin directory.
    Carlos Puebla
    //TD 3d Character Artist.

    ncpuebla (arroba) gmail dot com

  4. #4
    Lightwaver SubDProxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    133
    Blog Entries
    1
    I had the same problem with LW10. Scan Plug-in Directory fixed the problem.
    Glen

  5. #5
    Tone Bank Jungle
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Chicago, USA
    Posts
    4
    Thanks again all. The Scan didn't work, so i re-installed. Hope that doesn't become a habit.

    D

  6. #6
    Dance Commander WCameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wilmington MA
    Posts
    546
    Backup your configuration files, particularly LWEXT10.CFG (or LWEXT10-64.CFG) which is the Plugins cfg file. Back it up after a fresh Scan Directory operation (and after each new plugin added), then keep it around. You can shut LW down and copy it over if you get any of those pesky "Plug-in file (same as above) is currently in use and cannot be replaced." that you cant get around the usual ways.

    - Will.
    "All those with Psychokinesis, raise my hand."
    - The Doctor.
    The Room With No Doors
    by Kate Orman.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delta Quadrant
    Posts
    245
    I'm experiencing the same problem as well. Scan directory isn't taking and even a fresh install isn't fixing things. Do I need to nuke these config files? Will they be automatically regenerated?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    241
    yes , it will be regenerated
    Carlos Puebla
    //TD 3d Character Artist.

    ncpuebla (arroba) gmail dot com

  9. #9
    Learning to wave... Tinpau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    106
    I am having the same problem .... Nuked the configs, scanned directory, reinstalled,... nothing worked. Any ideas ?? I am loading a saved scene from when LW10 was working ... do I need to create it again ??

    Tinpau

  10. #10
    Learning to wave... Tinpau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    106
    Got it.... reinstalled after deleting all the files in the User files

    Tinpau

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •