Page 1 of 52 1231151 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 770

Thread: Bounce!

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    1,129

    Bounce!

    Just a little demo of a lightweight, easy to use physics plugin for LW10 that we're working on. As you can see in the video, you build the simulation in Modeler and then run the plugin in Layout to produce the MDD file. Although I'm not really sure if there's any benefit to doing so, you can switch between physics engines( currently Bullet and Newton ) at run-time.

    Here's a couple of rough animations of some of the simulations we've done with it so far.

    300 pennies

    800 balls

    -Steve

  2. #2
    Lightwave Padawan rkpdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Procrasti Nation upstream from De Nile
    Posts
    183
    And now that you have baited the trap...when can we expect the plugin to be available?

    ps, WOW!

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Wow! Very impressive.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  5. #5
    impressive !
    PS - i havent LW10 here at home, does that MD_reader plugin come with it ? It seems better than LW 9.6's.

    Paolo

  6. #6
    the smuggler of pixels ANS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    268
    I like what i see
    Your plugins eats native LW dynamics in one bite.

  7. #7
    NewTek documentation wrench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    909
    The MD Reader is part of LightWave 10.

    B
    LightWiki
    --
    Machine spec: Phenom II x6 3.3GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 64-bit, NVidia Geforce 450 GTS 280.26

  8. #8
    Nothing ado about much Exception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    5,560
    Drool... looks amazing! Any ETA?

  9. #9
    Excellent stuff as always Steve

    BTW is there a way to start simulation on event/certain frame ?
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

  10. #10
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmö, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    Cool stuff!
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    1,129
    Hey, thanks for the positive feedback... it's much appreciated!

    ..when can we expect the plugin to be available?
    It's still in early beta and has only been tested internally. I'm going to try an open beta approach as soon as a few more jobs get knocked off the ToDo list... hopefully within a week or so.

    BTW is there a way to start simulation on event/certain frame ?
    You can start recording for MDD export at any point in the simulation.

    -Steve

  12. #12
    Steve,
    I'm curious as to whether or not there will be a chance for us to build the timeline a piece at a time then save the whole timeline as an mdd.
    That is to say, sim 1-50, sim 50-125, sim 125-300; save all of the timeline as one mdd. Or, would we have to save an mdd per section to sew them together at the end?
    Motion designer had this ability at some point, I believe.
    Thanks!
    Robert Wilson, MA Deaf Ed.
    Indiana Deaf School
    This e-mail may contain information protected under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    1,129
    Here's another little workflow demo showing how you can interact with a running simulation using projectiles


    I'm curious as to whether or not there will be a chance for us to build the timeline a piece at a time then save the whole timeline as an mdd.
    Hi Robert,

    You can pause a running simulation, make some changes and then resume calculations and still create a continuous MDD file. Is that what you're talking about?

    -Steve

  14. #14
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    Quote Originally Posted by hurley View Post
    Here's another little workflow demo showing how you can interact with a running simulation using projectiles
    Poor cows.

    Will there be a beta program to sign up as a tester?
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  15. #15
    Looks quite cool, actually!!

Page 1 of 52 1231151 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •