Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Supplying Client with video edited on the 850

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219

    Supplying Client with video edited on the 850

    Need some help and advice. Shot a project with the 850 in HD 1080i. Looks great. Edited a set of interviews into short answers (sound bites). Have supplied the client with 16 X 9 WMVs for review. But now they want a higher quality set of the clips for use in future video productions, etc. When I render the 16 x 9 TimeLine as a DV Type 2 AVI, even after setting the frame size to 1920 X 1080 in the render window, I get a squeezed 720 X 480 file back. If the client plays this on their PC using windows media player, it appears squeezed. On the SE time line in a 16 X 9 project, it looks fine and is not squeexed.

    How can I render an AVI for the client that will play as a 16 X 9 video in their Windows Media Player? I would prefer something that does not require the client to load additional codecs. This can be a problem in many corporations.

    Bill
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  2. #2
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,724
    DV avi's only support SD resolution. I would output high bit rate MPEG2.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219
    Thanks Zane! If I render the time line as an MPEG2 would the client be able to play the files on their computer with a Windows Media Player? Often clients have little understanding of file format or codecs so they just want to be able to click on it and have it play. I will run a test and see what happens, but would like your thoughts. Also would these file play in editing software other than SpeedEDIT?

    Bill
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219

    How about having the client download the SeedHQ codec?

    I can render 1920 X 1080 files using the SpeedHQ setting. How about just having the client download the right codec? If that is an option, can I have a location for the Newtek codecs? I have them all on all my computers and the SpeedHQ renders play very well in my Window Media Player for review. Just need to get the client to have the same codecs I think.
    Bill
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,585
    You might try the Media Export tool. It has lots of options as well.

    Kris

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219
    Where do I fiid Media Export tool?
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,585
    It's under the "Manage" button. Look for the "Export Media" button. It is on page 108 of the manual as well.

    Kris

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219
    850 Manual
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,585
    Quote Originally Posted by wftiv View Post
    850 Manual
    Yeah, page 108 of the 850 manual.

    Kris

  10. #10
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,644
    Quote Originally Posted by kltv View Post
    It's under the "Manage" button. Look for the "Export Media" button. It is on page 108 of the manual as well.
    Heheheh. I'm gradually getting the message out.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219

    Found the Export Options....

    Disregarding the fact that we pay quite a bit for the 850 Tricaster and don't even get the manual, I was finally able to find it on line in not such a logical place. And sure enough on page 108 it talks about Exporting files. Not sure it totally answered my needs because working with clients that have little or no knowledge of file formats, etc. it remains a crap shoot. I guess every living soul that has authored a Codec things their is the best for a multitude of reasons, but it leaves the majority of the clients we serve totally confused.

    They want something that they can download, double click, and it will open their Windows Media Player and play. (yes I have yet to find any large corporations playing on MACs). But we know it does not always end up being that simple. This client, for example, wanted web ready files as WMVs. Not a problem and all were delivered. But then they decided they want higher resolution files for later use. But for what and with what software would they be edited. There in lies the Codec Dilema.

    My solution was to send them the NewTek Codec Pack along with the SpeedHQ files I rendered from the 1080i time line. They look great and play well, but who knows what will happen when they try to edit them on something other that SpeedEDIT. Maybe the Codec Pack will make it possible. So now they have insturctions to supply copies of those file along with the NewTek Codec Pack.

    Time will tell.

    Thanks for your input. One of these days I think I will have to do something about the manual for the 850. Not always easy to get on line from remote locations when using the 850, so a printed manual would be handy.

    Bill
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    1,585
    The PDF manual is included on the machine. Just go to the big blue help icon with the picture of a book on it from the main menu. The manuals all live in there.

    Kris

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Medford, New Jersey
    Posts
    219
    I guess if we had received some info with the box, we would know where to look for the manual. I must say the "quick start" was kind of quick. Seems like it is a chicken egg- situation. Is it the newest version? I understand there were some changes made recently, but then how would we know?
    Bill
    www.interactivevideo.tv
    609-654-6122

  14. #14
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,644
    I'm quite interested in this part of the discussion. It's not the first time someone has initially failed to find the primary trove of Documentation. Once you know it's only a click away, problem solved, but I've wondered about this a lot.

    To be honest, I've never seen the hard copy Quickstart materials, but I guess I have to assume they omit mentioning where to find the manuals? Perhaps that could be addressed. Any other suggestions? Would a 'newbie wizard' or some sort, that made startup, creating sessions, and updating brain-dead simple be helpful? Any suggestions on how to make it more obvious that Help is home to all of the docs? Should some of our training and demo videos be included on the system by default? Or linked in Help?

    On the other matter, checking for updates from time to time is wise. This is touched on in the manual under Utilities at section 5.2.4, and again at Section A.5.3 (in the "How do I ...?" appendix).
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  15. #15
    Registered User DCvision's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    65
    Maybe I'm an overachiever, but I actually downloaded the owners
    Manual for our 850 at least a month before actual delivery. Bless
    The forum members that are patient enough to supply answers rather
    Than just RTFM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •