Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: 850 Failure (weird)

  1. #1
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82

    850 Failure (weird)

    As we were preparing for a live show, after running our 850 for about 30 minutes, just as we were about to go "live", the system became unusable.

    Can't click to select any title, DDR, still, or audio file. Instead of being selected (heading turns yellow), all the items in a category get a white box around them. If I try to click and drag an item from one location to another, a copy of ALL items is created.

    F1-F8 does not "take" the associated camera. Instead, random stills are brought up via a fade. Or, F4 "fades" in camera 1.

    1-8 does not preview the associated cameras as well.

    Rebooted - no help.

    Turned off system for 15 minutes - no help.

    As I said, this happened just before a live show. . .which we had to cancel. I've got two (now three) more live shows tomorrow. . .and am VERY concerned.

    We have the new/quieter fan provided by Newtek in the system. I mention this because the back of the system felt hot. . .though I don't have anything to compare it to. But two XLR cables plugged into the 1 and 2 audio ins seemed hot at the connector.

    Has anybody seen this before? Any ideas? Suggestions? We're all very concerned about this behavior.

    Thanks,

    -- Scott

  2. #2
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,238
    Try starting a new session and see if that fixes your problems. I had a client that somehow corrupted his session. After starting a new session, all was right in the world.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,914
    It almost sounds like a problem with an input device (kb, for example). From time to time on my pc, my mouse goes wacky, and becomes 'the Demon Scroller'. I've never been able to figure out why.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Quote Originally Posted by scaught101 View Post
    We have the new/quieter fan provided by Newtek in the system. I mention this because the back of the system felt hot. . .though I don't have anything to compare it to. But two XLR cables plugged into the 1 and 2 audio ins seemed hot at the connector.
    That shouldn't be an issue unless you're broadcasting from a tent in the desert or something.

    Try this - run the TCXD850 with the front lid down and evaluate performance.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  5. #5
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by PIZAZZ View Post
    Try starting a new session and see if that fixes your problems. I had a client that somehow corrupted his session. After starting a new session, all was right in the world.
    Thanks SO MUCH for this suggestion. I'll try it first thing when I get to the studio.

    I did try going to other pre-existing sessions. . .same problem.

  6. #6
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    It almost sounds like a problem with an input device (kb, for example). From time to time on my pc, my mouse goes wacky, and becomes 'the Demon Scroller'. I've never been able to figure out why.
    I'll give this a try as well, Steve. Although both the keyboard (F1-F8) and mouse (can't select an specific title) had problems.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by csandy View Post
    That shouldn't be an issue unless you're broadcasting from a tent in the desert or something.

    Try this - run the TCXD850 with the front lid down and evaluate performance.
    I do live in Las Vegas. . . .


    (is that a camel?)

  8. #8
    knowledge seeker nevmoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    442
    I was going to comment that it almost sounds like the mouse or button got "stuck" on.
    Steve Croom, creator of:
    The Sound Doctrine Seminar Series
    It's about Sound, NOT Doctrine!

  9. #9
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    321
    Hey Scott
    We can help you go over the system now if you would like and we just posted a new update we can apply to your system.
    Donny Oropeza
    NewTek Technical Support
    210-341-8444 (8:30 AM to 6:30 PM C)
    (Monday - Friday)(10:00 AM to 2 PM C)(Sat-Sun)
    NewTek Customer Service
    1-800-862-7837 (9:30 AM to 5:30 PM C)(M-F)

  10. #10
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Started the system this morning. Same problem.

    Unplugged/Replugged keyboard/mouse -- Same Problem.

    Created New Session -- Same Problem.

    System is completely unusable.

    On hold (8 minutes...) for technical support. Donny, you there?!? I've got three live shows scheduled for today.
    Last edited by scaught101; 03-04-2011 at 10:22 AM.

  11. #11
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by donny View Post
    Hey Scott
    We can help you go over the system now if you would like and we just posted a new update we can apply to your system.
    Hey Donny.

    Should I be concerned about the update? I've seem reports of the DDRs not working after the update has been applied.

  12. #12
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    More info:

    Just discovered the the keyboard is in permanent CAPS LOCK (although the keyboard indicator can be turned on or off) and the Mouse is in permanent SELECT mode.

    Hmm...just occurred to me...it's like the SHIFT key is stuck on the keyboard....

  13. #13
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    321
    Send me a PM I can give you a call directly. I should also mention make sure you call on the 210-341-8444 for tech support directly.
    Donny Oropeza
    NewTek Technical Support
    210-341-8444 (8:30 AM to 6:30 PM C)
    (Monday - Friday)(10:00 AM to 2 PM C)(Sat-Sun)
    NewTek Customer Service
    1-800-862-7837 (9:30 AM to 5:30 PM C)(M-F)

  14. #14
    Registered User scaught101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    82
    Thanks to everybody who offered help. The problem: KEYBOARD

    The SHIFT KEY was somehow stuck. . . replaced the keyboard, all back to normal.
    ---
    Scott Whitney
    www.PodWorx.com (Company)
    www.VegasVideoNetwork.com (Online Broadcasting Network)

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,914
    Glad it worked out, and thanks for the update.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •