Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: Blender can recreate matcaps from zbrush. Can we do the same in lightwave?

  1. #1
    Registered User zardoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,819

    Blender can recreate matcaps from zbrush. Can we do the same in lightwave?

    this would be quite interesting to achieve. I know that for rendering this is like art mode in g2 right?

    here is the thread
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/show...=174790&page=1
    Intel Core i7-4770 @3.40GHz,GeForce GTX 660 - Ram 8Gb - Win 8.1 64b

  2. #2
    Registered User zardoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,819
    what I can understand from this is that in blender they can feed a type of mapping according to the normals of the object
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/atta...4&d=1261391959

    we don't have this right?

    it would be nice to have this in opengl
    Intel Core i7-4770 @3.40GHz,GeForce GTX 660 - Ram 8Gb - Win 8.1 64b

  3. #3
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    sure but that mostly makes sense in a ' sculpting environment ' , in order to have a better feeling about how the surface flows ... maybe in Core ( ?? )

    anyway , i wd add another link to this thread . a bit different but more universal ; MaCrea from Taron .

    http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showthread.php?t=92157




    .cheers
    Last edited by zarti; 01-04-2011 at 07:56 AM. Reason: corrected the tool's name ... =)

  4. #4
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,611
    Hm, that seems to be simple enough to implement... at least for rendering (since third parties don't really have hooks into the OpenGL shading).

    Cheers,
    Mike

  5. #5
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,076
    Simple!


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    241
    heheeh, yes indeed ... good software toy from Taron .

  7. #7
    obfuscated SDK hacker Lightwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    13,611
    Quote Originally Posted by XswampyX View Post
    Simple!

    Except that it's the wrong mapping type and the wrong shading... but it looks close

    Does anybody know if the ZBrush Matcap file format is documented?

    Cheers,
    Mike

  8. #8

  9. #9
    the escapist zarti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    above the ecuator, then, on the right, but not too much
    Posts
    2,651
    ok just for testing and some fun :

    1- in vpr ( lw10 ) from camera view
    but before i painted the refl map in sculptris ...
    parented the sphere to the camera
    camera targeted the object
    Attachment 91540Attachment 91541

    --

    2- ogl layout ... applied a spherical map to object's srf ...
    refl map generated in fusion ...
    Attachment 91542

    --

    3- modeling in modeler ... =) ... applied the same as ( 2 ) ...
    Attachment 91543Attachment 91544



    .cheers
    Last edited by zarti; 06-22-2011 at 07:45 AM.

  10. #10
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,076
    Yeay, I got it working!



    The normals from the material image, mapped directly to the models normals.

    It renders almost instantly.

    Whoohoooo!

  11. #11
    Registered User zardoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    1,819
    can you share your node setup? because your picture is too small to understand what you did.

    pretty cool. thanks for your time.

    now it would be nice to have this in opengl
    Intel Core i7-4770 @3.40GHz,GeForce GTX 660 - Ram 8Gb - Win 8.1 64b

  12. #12
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,076
    Here you go. You need the plug in from here : - http://www.db-w.com/component/option...,select/id,13/ At the bottom. Poms Nodes.

    Image size 512x512, but it is adjustable.



    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Super Member XswampyX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kernow
    Posts
    2,076
    If you can get it to work, you can try.....

    MatCap particles!

    300 frames x 2000 particles = under 4 mins to render.

    Attached Files Attached Files

  14. #14
    Professional Newbie funk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    777
    XswampyX thanks for that node setup! Very cool

    Is there any way to adjust it so we dont have to resize all images to 512x512 (eg. so it automatically reads the image resolution)?
    Win7 64/Core i7-975 3.33GHz/12GB RAM/GTX 670 2GB/Wacom Intuos4 M
    I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live - Jesus Christ

  15. #15
    Super Member Boris Goreta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    1,357
    I'm using this node setup in production but pixel image node from pomsnodes won't load over network (Plug-in Pixel Image failed to start, Error:$Message Table Error, $Message Table Error Pom Pixel Image). Is there an alternative node which does the same thing ?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •