Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: unreal2 extreme toon shader and varying line thickness

unreal2 extreme toon shader and varying line thickness

Hi all

I've been wrestling with the unreal toon shader and have hit a brick wall. Basically I want to control the edgetracer line width using the incidence angle of the light. However I've tweaked the nodes in the pixel filter toontracer and it just doesn't work.

http://screencast.com/t/SSKJ4D2Km

And a screenshot of what I have at the moment:

http://screencast.com/t/9wlROkOGuC

I'm a nodes noob and this combined with very little documentation out there is making it a difficult challenge.

Any help would be much appreciated as I'm pulling my hair out!

thanks

Matt

I think you need to plug the light info into a gradiant node, not an incidence node...I think. I'm a noob with nodes too.

The only time I've had to change line thickness I've done it with a procedural to give a brush look to it.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

Quote Originally Posted by nickdigital View Post
    I think you need to plug the light info into a gradiant node, not an incidence node...I think. I'm a noob with nodes too.
    good first step
    We are pirates, we are artists...

Blog

Thanks for the replies guys. I've had a go with the gradient but still nothing.

When I add a texture straight into the size section of the toonshader (when I press the T )I can control the line thickness because the gradient gives me values I can put in. I can't add in incidence or light incidence, only normal angle (which is stupid)

http://screencast.com/t/41fvjdkjSTlO

The problem I think is how gradients work in nodes. When I add a gradient node it doesn't have these values any more, just colour and alpha. I think the edgetracer brush is looking for values and not colours to control it's line thickness. Does anyone know how to add values into a gradient in the node editor.