Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Best Motherboard for Vt5

  1. #1
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72

    Best Motherboard for Vt5

    Is there a list of Motherboards that work with the VT5 card?

    I have an AMD CPU Phenom II 1055T Six Core Processor.

    I just need a board that will work.

  2. #2
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,235
    We have only built two and based VT systems. Neither worked that well. Both have died since put into service.

    So my motherboard recommendation for your AMD chip is none. Go buy an i7 based setup and rejoice



    I personally like ASUS and Gigabyte
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  3. #3
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72
    well can you recommend an i7 motherboard?

  4. #4
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72
    I sent an email to Newtek about which motherboard i can use and there response is below.


    Dear Sarah,

    Sorry, but we don't have any list of compatible motherboard.

    Best regards
    Simon


    I think is very strange that a company that supplies video editing cards douse not know which motherboard are compatible??? Especially since a lot of motherboards won't work with the VT5.

  5. #5
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,235
    Quote Originally Posted by sarahstaar View Post
    I sent an email to Newtek about which motherboard i can use and there response is below.


    Dear Sarah,

    Sorry, but we don't have any list of compatible motherboard.

    Best regards
    Simon


    I think is very strange that a company that supplies video editing cards douse not know which motherboard are compatible??? Especially since a lot of motherboards won't work with the VT5.
    That has been standard practice since the beginning of VT. We dealers and builders are the ones who verified by trial and error what worked and didn't work. I have scaled back our VT builds the last year to practically nothing. We sell 50 to 1 TriCasters over VTs. I will have to do some digging to remember the last ASUS board we used.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  6. #6
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    Pick any Gigabyte motherboard at random and you shouldn't have too many issues. You might have to keep the VT card to one of the inside (closer to the CPU) slots.

    Good luck with your build.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  7. #7
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72
    i will try the Gigabyte motherboard

    My first system i built last week did not work at all,

    Asus M4N68T Pro NF 630a AM3 Motherboard
    AMD CPU Phenom II 1055T Six Core Processor
    Windows 7


    Everything installed ok but i sometimes get a glitch when switching along the program bus. If i preform a take between the program and preview that is clean. If i start cutting along the effects bus the program out gos crazy.

    Sometimes the cuts are clean sometimes i get a glitch and sometimes it flickers. It looks like a sync issue.

    Is the motherboard i got not compatible with the VT5??

    The FSB/HT Speed: is 2000 MHz which is OK i think for VT5??

    I have tried the vt card in the other slots and this did not help.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ghana
    Posts
    15
    I could never get my VT4 card to work with my older motherboards. I just sorta gave up! But I'm back to building a VT5 system for television control room and I found out that the Asus P6T WS Professional motherboard is an OK board. I think someone on the forums mentioned something about the board having a PCI slot that could run full 66MHz speed. I'm yet to find that out.

    But seriously, wouldn't we all be better off going the Tricaster route?

  9. #9
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72
    There should be a Sticky on this forum with successful builds and components used.

  10. #10
    Registered User sarahstaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    72
    So all i need is a motherboard with a PCI slot that could run full 66MHz speed?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ghana
    Posts
    15

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by sarahstaar View Post
    There should be a Sticky on this forum with successful builds and components used.
    Yes, there really should! I'm no expert in selecting motherboards and CPUs! I just read it somewhere in the forums here. But I read that it has a PCI-X slot that runs at 66MHz. You'd have to ask Jeff 'n' thems...

  12. #12
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    It's really not rocket science any more. Systems and drives are now so fast you can easily do standard definition without a hiccup.

    Cutting along the effects row has never been ideal on any SD TriCaster or VT. So your build won't help you much. There are several threads on the phenomenon if you search.

    VT builders are a dying breed of power hungry bargain hunters. You won't find much in the way of cheat sheets, but you will find even those who used to or still build VT boxes for a living quite willing to give you free advice like Jef has done.

    You may want to do the math and see how much your time and reputation is worth versus getting an expert to build it for you though.

    Some of have been building since the bad old days of expensive heavy scsi arrays where everything had to be tuned to perfection to get a fast enough system. Those days are gone for the most part, but the skill set is helpful in building a modern box and makes it seem easy in comparison.

    Again, good luck and hopefully you won't spend a pound trying to save a penny.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ghana
    Posts
    15
    So has building a VT5 system become obsolete nowadays? Everyone Tricasting now?

  14. #14
    Consultant
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Greater Washington, DC Area
    Posts
    1,390
    No. Those who want the power and flexibility of a VT[5] and know what they are doing still use them. As you know, the SD TriCasters are all 32-bit and limited. With VT[5], you can build a 64-bit system on the very stable Windows 7 and have a large cushion of RAM and employ the latest I/O technologies.
    Sandy Audio Visual LLC
    NewTek Certification Testing Center
    Twitter @DCTriCaster

    TriCaster: All Models
    Cameras: Sony HDC-P1, X300

    My opinion, uncensored. The blog at www.sandyaudiovisual.com.

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,649
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosowusu View Post
    Everyone Tricasting now?
    I won't comment on your query, for the moment at least - interested to see what others have to say on the topic though ... but I do love that "TriCasting" has entered the global lexicon as a verb.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •