Page 1 of 107 1231151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1598

Thread: DP Instance update

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,171

    DP Instance update

    A few fixes in DP Instance,
    -Path Distribution is now correctly limited by the Instance number.
    -Instance Diffusion model wasn't accurate for area lights.
    -Slightly less Ram memory used and a bit faster (not for huge
    number of instances).
    -For user needing radiosity effect, don't forget to check
    "Volumetric Radiosity" in the GI panel.

    No other speed improvement planned in its development,
    so I closed this project, the win32 version is no more
    limited in render size and I removed watermark.

    http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/pl..._Instance.html

    Denis.

  2. #2
    Super Member COBRASoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oudenburg, BEL
    Posts
    3,182
    Denis: thank you very much! Is there a chance for a 64 bit version?

  3. #3
    excellent!!
    thanks Denis!

    mlon
    lw_chanlum [free shader and node x32] <HERE!>
    lw_chanlum [advanced node x32, x64, ub and osx] <HERE!>

  4. #4
    Super Member arsad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    753
    Thank you very much Denis! Merci beaucoup!!!
    i7930, 12G Ram, 285GTX, 80G intel SSD, Win7 Pro 64. 30" HP LP3065
    X2 4400, 3G RAM, 7800GTX Vista64 Ultimate.
    5 bi-pro (2.0-2.8) 2G Ram XP-ProSP2.
    MacBook Pro 2.4C2D, 4g Ram, 8600GT Leopard 10.6.3

  5. #5
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    I must be doing something wrong cuz I can't get the instances to render.

    1. Add a null.
    2. Add a 1m box.
    3. Add the DP Instance plug-in to the null and add the 1m box to the Scene Object List>Reference List.
    4. Add the DP Instance plug-in to the Volumetrics tab.
    5. Hit F9 and nothing shows up.

    What am I missing?

    Thx.
    My opinions and comments do not represent those of my employer.
    Profile piece
    2010 Reel
    'The X's' Reel

  6. #6
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,282
    This is awesome denis! Thanks a lot!
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  7. #7
    pass:sword OFF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,080
    it's great news!
    but i'm also can't get rendered result when was trying to use particle emitter and subdivided mesh for placing instances
    can somebody post right working test scene?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,171
    May be not easy to make it works for the first time,
    my advice, enable the "Box Preview" to see if you
    get a proper setup in ogl (realtime with a reasonnable
    number of instances), in "Pivot" mode make sure
    that the instance is not 'confused' with the reference
    itself (at the same place).

    Denis.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,171
    Got a bug report,
    Displacement mode is broken in this version,
    and DPM Scan not working more than once,
    hope to fix this, may be not shortly.

    Denis.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    4,171
    Quote Originally Posted by dpont View Post
    Got a bug report,
    Displacement mode is broken in this version,
    and DPM Scan not working more than once..
    Solved,
    added also an "Oscillate" behavior in Displacement tab,
    DP Instance has been updated to version 1.03,
    http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/pl..._Instance.html

    Denis.

  11. #11
    "maybe not shortly."

    hehe..


    mlon
    lw_chanlum [free shader and node x32] <HERE!>
    lw_chanlum [advanced node x32, x64, ub and osx] <HERE!>

  12. #12
    Super Member Cohen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Frederick MD, USA
    Posts
    414
    Very impressive.

  13. #13
    Thanks, great work. I hope we could see the 64bits soon.
    Juanjo Gonzalez
    Computer Graphics Software Developer

  14. #14
    cant wait to test it... just curious to see if it works with Kray too

    Paolo

  15. #15
    Heffalump
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Away
    Posts
    3,897
    Does this instancing approach provided unique instance IDs (equivalent to object IDs)? Some shaders/nodal systems use those. HDInstance, sadly, has never been updated to deal with this.
    Inactive.

Page 1 of 107 1231151101 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •