Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: URGENT- XD300 power-up issue in Singapore

  1. #1

    URGENT- XD300 power-up issue in Singapore

    Hello,

    I just arrived in Singapore to record and live stream the Duke-Singapore medical conference taking place here at 8am tomorrow morning, Saturday, September 18 (7pm Friday CST). I am trying to take the standard 110V power cable from the Tricaster XD300, and using an AC to AC power converter (220V--> 110V, 500W) I am trying to plug into a Singapore power outlet and boot up the XD300 without success. The machine tries to start up for about 30 seconds, both lights come on initially, (hard-drive and power), fans come on, lights come on inside the XD300, the hard-drive light goes off for about 5 seconds, then everything powers down. A few seconds later, the XD300 tries to start up again by going through the same cycle automatically.

    The XD300 was working perfectly before departure. I personally carried the XD300 in my well padded carry-on bag the entire trip.

    Any help troubleshooting this urgent problem would be much appreciated. I will be calling Newtek tech support when they open later, but all stores here will be closed by then in case there is anything I need to do or buy (i.e. special additional power adaptors, etc.)

    Thanks,

    Brandon
    Skype username: brandon_winchester_md
    [email protected]
    Phone: 919-809-6842
    J. Brandon Winchester, MD
    Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
    Division of Regional Anesthesia
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Twitter: DOCSTREAMTV
    Website: DOCSTREAM.TV

  2. #2
    UPDATE: we must have had a power surge that fried the Antec TruePower 550 inside the XD300. After discussing the problem over the phone with a Malaysian Newtek reseller, we speculated that the power supply had been damaged. Off we went to Sim Lim Square in Singapore, where we found the correct model of power supply after the 25th store we visited. Replacing the power supply immediately fixed the XD300- crisis averted, time to go stream and record some lectures!

    Brandon
    J. Brandon Winchester, MD
    Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
    Division of Regional Anesthesia
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Twitter: DOCSTREAMTV
    Website: DOCSTREAM.TV

  3. #3
    Virtualsets.com Tim H.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    339
    Hi Brandon,

    I've been looking around to determine whether the XD300 has a 100-240v power supply unit. Unfortunately, it's not completely clear on the back of the unit or anywhere I could quickly find online. I bet you could find out by opening up your XD300 and looking at the PSU.

    My first thought is that you really only need a plug adapter, not a converter or transformer, to get from your North American (NEMA 5-15) plug to the British (BS-1363) plug. The very best and probably easiest would be to just purchase the whole cord locally. It will look like this:

    http://www.datapro.net/products/pc-p...with-fuse.html
    Of course, the above is only accurate if the XD300 actually has a 100-240v PSU.

    Here is a great general power resource:
    http://www.adaptelec.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=222

    No matter what, you will definitely want to be certain before trying anything. One mistake and your PSU will likely be dead. If the PSU is 110-240v, I would expect that it will work for sure.

    Best of Luck!
    Tim

  4. #4
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    The Power supply is 110-240v.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  5. #5
    Virtualsets.com Tim H.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    339

    Arrow

    Based on Zane's info, it sounds like the best thing would be to buy the basic and inexpensive British (BS-1363) plug. That completely eliminates the need for expensive power converters. Here's a link again:

    http://www.datapro.net/products/pc-p...with-fuse.html

    I have no idea whether there are less expensive brands of this cord available, but it certainly solves the problem that Brandon had.

    For the benefit of those that may be traveling the world with their TriCaster, here is another link from that site that gives the power cables for various countries:

    http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/world_power.html

    Hope this helps!

    Tim (who is completely unaffiliated with the company above...and hadn't even heard of it before this morning)

  6. #6
    Thanks Tim and Zane. You were right, the TCXD300 is a 110-240V unit. Once the Antec power supply was replaced the Tricaster immediately fired up with both 110V (via $70 500Watt converter) as well as a simple American/Singapore adaptor drawing 240V (this time with a surge protector). We can only speculate that we blew the power supply during a surge in the hotel room when we did not have a surge protector connected.

    Searching for the exact Antec model of power supply at Sim Lim Square, a seven story mall in Singapore filled exclusively with electronic stores, was probably the best cultural experience of our week long trip! Thank God they speak English there

    Brandon
    J. Brandon Winchester, MD
    Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
    Division of Regional Anesthesia
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Twitter: DOCSTREAMTV
    Website: DOCSTREAM.TV

  7. #7
    Super Member arsad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    753
    Yes, Sim Lim Square is really impressive, I've been there in the 90'th
    when my Sister lived in Singapore.
    (I remember it was called differently back then something with "tower")

    Glad it worked out for you with the TriCaster.
    i7930, 12G Ram, 285GTX, 80G intel SSD, Win7 Pro 64. 30" HP LP3065
    X2 4400, 3G RAM, 7800GTX Vista64 Ultimate.
    5 bi-pro (2.0-2.8) 2G Ram XP-ProSP2.
    MacBook Pro 2.4C2D, 4g Ram, 8600GT Leopard 10.6.3

  8. #8

    Power failure recurrence

    HELP!

    The previous power failure symptoms that I had figured were related to a Singapore hotel power surge have recurred. This time, however, there was a surge protector with US power outlets, and yet here I am with my XD300 totally unable to power up.

    The only common denominator was that the symtoms happened on both occasions immediately after transporting the XD300 in a padded carry-on style suitcase, this time from home to Duke Hospital.

    Tech support, for the second time in two tries during normal weekend business hours, is not answering nor am I able to leave a message. I am supposed to use the XD300 for two big meetings this week, so tough luck again.

    Anyone know if there is an answer besides going back to SimLim Square?

    Brandon
    J. Brandon Winchester, MD
    Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
    Division of Regional Anesthesia
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Twitter: DOCSTREAMTV
    Website: DOCSTREAM.TV

  9. #9
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    321
    I would have to say the power supply because if it was memory the unit would stay on. Same if it was the graphics card. I would see if the place that sold the power supply has a way to test them as well.
    Donny Oropeza
    NewTek Technical Support
    210-341-8444 (8:30 AM to 6:30 PM C)
    (Monday - Friday)(10:00 AM to 2 PM C)(Sat-Sun)
    NewTek Customer Service
    1-800-862-7837 (9:30 AM to 5:30 PM C)(M-F)

  10. #10
    NewTek System Integrator PIZAZZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Texas, or wherever the plane drops me off this week
    Posts
    4,238
    Are you using a Surge Protector or a Uninterruptable Power Supply (UPS)??

    I would not run a TriCaster setup of any size without a UPS. Especially if you are out in another country.


    I would send the box back to NewTek asap and get them to replace the XD300 power supply with the standard shipping version to make sure nothing is wonky with the one you purchased in SimLim. Maybe the NewTek dealer you purchased the XD300 from can lend you one of theirs to get you through your shoots. We had to do that recently for a client who had a problem with their unit.
    Last edited by PIZAZZ; 10-11-2010 at 09:56 AM.
    Jef Kethley
    PIZAZZ
    www.pizazz.com

    Using:
    All models of TriCasters + 3Play, IPSeries
    Panasonic UB300 4k cams
    Tactical Fiber/converters, SDI2NDI converters, NDI-Viewfinder, and NDI2HDMI

  11. #11
    Thanks Donny and Jeff. I was using a UPS. I should receive a new power supply via overnight delivery tomorrow. Good suggestion about asking my local dealer for a loaner, but 24 hours and still no reply from him after phone call and email. Donny- I noticed in your signature the listed tech support weekend hours until to 2pm cst, which is different from what the customer phone support message says (5:30pm) which is different from what your tech support website says (6:30pm). Which is it? With tech support calls, tech support email, email to local dealer, and phone call to local dealer, the only answer I have received is via this forum. Thank you two for your help.
    J. Brandon Winchester, MD
    Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
    Division of Regional Anesthesia
    Duke University School of Medicine
    Twitter: DOCSTREAMTV
    Website: DOCSTREAM.TV

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •