Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Rubik's Cube rig posible or not posible

  1. #1
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349

    Rubik's Cube rig posible or not posible

    hello every one
    for about 6 months now i have been going over and over in my head how i would go about a Rubik's cube animation or rig
    now finnaly tonight i though i had it haha
    i thought if i gave each cube its own weight map and its own bone then i could parent the boned to a null and rotate the null and there you go
    but then i realised that i would need to be able to parent each Bone to 2 nulls one for one rotation and another for the other rotation as you all no each set of bricks rotate in 2 different ways
    so that did not work
    then i thought maybe if i put in 2 ones for each block, so then i went in and spend like another 20 min naming these bones so i didn't get confused and placing them in the rite place
    ok so then i parented these 2nd bones to the 1st bones and set the whightmap to the parent and then it turned out that i had to unparent the bones from the mesh to parent them to the new bones and so the mesh did not deform
    anyway i could go on and on don for ages about all the different ways i tryed and they all sum up to I CANOT DO IT hahaha

    so i was wondering is it even possible to rig a Rubik's cube haha

    but i am pretty sure that if i could parent the bones to the mesh and ALSO the the null then it would work
    aslong as i could parent each bone to 2 nulls and a mesh, so 3 objects haha.

    so just in case you have got confused i no i have haha

    im asking if it tis possible to parent 1 objecs (in this case 1 bone) to 3 objects

    and also if it is possible to rigg a Rubik's Cube and if it is it is DEFINITELY the hardest thing to rig haha

    thank you in advance

    -Oliver
    Last edited by oliversimonnet; 09-05-2010 at 05:06 PM.
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  2. #2
    hi,
    i never thought about it but i must agree it's quite a challenging one.
    And since i love challenges, i'll give it a try as soon as i've some spare time.

    Paolo

  3. #3
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    Soooooooooooooooo easy... it doesnt even require a rig per se.

    Create a single cube in modeller. In layout clone it (26 times) to create a 3X3X3 array. use the move pivot tool to move the pivot point of each cube to the centre of the array.

    Now you can just multi select all the cubes making one side, and rotate them.

    Due to eurler rotation order, you will get gimbal lock, and find some rotations are blocked, and if you switch to local co-ords, you get drift between frames. This can be fixed by applying quaternion booster to each cube, allowing you to rotate on local axis each time.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  4. #4
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    just hit play.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  5. #5
    NewTek Developer jameswillmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    3,171
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelHill View Post
    Soooooooooooooooo easy... it doesnt even require a rig per se.

    Doh, simple and elegant! Nice.
    LightWave3D training, assets, news and discussion at www.liberty3d.com
    My opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions of any other entity, Liberty3D is not officially endorsed by NewTek.

  6. #6
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349
    haha thanks
    i cant belive i dodnt thing about it like that hahaha
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  7. #7
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    yeah, hang on.... was late last night, and Ive realised I made a boo boo.

    I meant WORLD co-ords, not local. If you use local or parent, then axis cross over after the first block has been rotated... so you use world... which of course means that the cube array must be aligned parallel to the world axis.

    As you can see, I have the array as a child of a null, so you would align and animate the cube in world mode, then once keyed, move or spin the null, or constrain it to whatever, to move the animation to a non world parallel position.

    Oh yeah, and you have to key all of the cube objects every time you make a rotation, not just the set that are being rotated.
    Last edited by RebelHill; 09-06-2010 at 03:37 AM.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  8. #8
    Rigger / Animator oliversimonnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,349
    aaa ok thanks for the info
    "If its called a walkie-talkie why isn't a hoover called a pushy-sucky"
    Win7 64 bit, Core i7 930
    18GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 770
    Demo Reel 2012
    www.OliverSimonnet3D.com

  9. #9
    Goes bump in the night RebelHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    5,766
    Thinking about it, I should also point out, both for yourself, and anyone else learning...

    The rubics cube is kind of to rigging what the bouncing ball is to animation. The ball teaches the 2 FUNDAMENTAL concepts of timing, and spacing... if you dont understand those, your animation will never work out.

    Likewise, the cube demonstrates the principles of PIVOT LOCATION, and ROTATION ORDER... if these things arent ingrained in your process you'll waste a ton of time effing around trying to rig stuff and not having it work out.

    Remember my complaints about the root bone being outside your character... thats a failure to observe good pivot location. Extend the concept to characters, and you start to see things in these terms here... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=509huTkNcVY

    So yeah... you get the point.
    Last edited by RebelHill; 09-06-2010 at 03:46 AM.
    LSR Surface and Rendering Tuts.
    RHiggit Rigging and Animation Tools
    RHA Animation Tutorials
    RHR Rigging Tutorials
    RHN Nodal Tutorials
    YT Vids Tuts for all

  10. #10
    World's Tallest Dwarf safetyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,343
    Dude -- you should, like, put out a rigging video or something.

  11. #11
    I recently had a client inquiry about this. Thank you to @RebelHill for the info.
    Here's the results of the last two days
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...MQxIqG3MikkBqy

    Subscribe! LOL
    Windows 7 x64
    Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6Ghz
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 ti
    Too many SSD's and Monitors
    32Gb DDR3


    _______________
    Coffee, M&Ms, Red Bull - On Tap
    http://www.youtube.com/3ative

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by hrgiger View Post
    Lightwave??
    Windows 7 x64
    Intel i7-4770K @ 4.6Ghz
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 ti
    Too many SSD's and Monitors
    32Gb DDR3


    _______________
    Coffee, M&Ms, Red Bull - On Tap
    http://www.youtube.com/3ative

  14. #14
    Dreamer Ztreem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,131
    Quote Originally Posted by The Wizzard View Post
    Lightwave??
    There is a dynamic parenter in LW you could use with the same technique.

  15. #15

    hope it is alright to re-upload Rebel's original shared scene file >
    (think it got lost in the NT forum crash years back)

    in Layout, remember to set to > World Coordinates
    Attached Files Attached Files
    LW vidz   DPont donate   LightWiki   RHiggit   IKBooster   My vidz

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •