Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 68

Thread: Lightwave 10 Question Thread

  1. #16
    •••••••••••••••••••• rsfd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe, de
    Posts
    1,305
    Quote Originally Posted by 3D Kiwi View Post
    What can you do with core. Is the modeling complete eg can you take a model from start to finish. Can you use core for you final renders, does it have buffers or a pass system. What would be the workflow if you are using all 3 apps????
    I'm not into HC, but as Modeler is still around, I would doubt that Core offers a complete modeling section. I also doubt, that the Core render engine/shading system is even close to be usable for final output.
    I'd like to see some clearing about possible workflows too. At the moment I would expect to model in Modeler, maybe use Core for UV, setup scene in Layout and *maybe* switch between Layout and Core for some final geometry tweaks. But I don't even know if that would be possible, as there's no information about how cameras and lights are exchanged between the two apps. And as the shading system in Core is new, I wonder what would happen to surfaces - will e.g. nodal shading from Layout be lost when one switches to Core?


    Quote Originally Posted by LW_Will View Post
    ...The VPR IS the full point renderer... so theoretically anything that the Full renderer can do, the VPR can do.
    That's the way that I understand VPR too.
    I wonder if VPR will significantly slow down as soon as new render features will be integrated.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cageman View Post
    VPR should work on a mac...
    urgh, that sounds as if there isn't even 1 Mac user in HC

  2. #17
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, CA
    Posts
    6,962
    At this point, CORE sounds like little more than an expensive hub.
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  3. #18
    Registered User Dreamcube017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    305
    I kind of agree.

    Sometimes I wonder why the modeler and layout aren't sold seperatly. What if someone just likes the modeler and doesn't need the other parts?

    It's already seperate applications. So they could technically do it and sell it at half price or something.

  4. #19
    Registered User adamredwoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,030
    I'm disappointed there's no instancing in LW10.
    LW10 does seem a little light on the wave...
    // To draw is to think and discover.

  5. #20
    There's instancing in CORE.
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  6. #21
    Registered User adamredwoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,030
    Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    There's instancing in CORE.
    Is LW10 Core or an upgrade to LW9.6?
    // To draw is to think and discover.

  7. #22
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malmφ, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,644
    LW10 = Layout, Modeler and CORE
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  8. #23
    LW, Maya, Nuke, & AE evolross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    951
    There's two things that haven't been discussed very much in the LW10/LWHC/CORE updates:

    1. Will particles and hypervoxels be the same? Will we get node-based behavioral tools like 3DSMAX or Houdini? Will hypervoxel rendering get an update? (I assume ClothFX will be a apart of the Bullet Dynamics stuff, no?)

    2. Will there be a built-in render pass manager? Like Passport or Janus?

  9. #24
    Registered User adamredwoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,030
    If LW10 has instancing, then why isn't it a BIG, *new* feature?
    // To draw is to think and discover.

  10. #25
    Maybe they're trying to play it cool since the other guys already have it. It's there though, it's been in multiple videos, like this one from February:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Z1NyDVrgRY
    ~~Phil Nolan
    www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - YouTube
    Win 10 Home x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
    Laptop: Win10 x64, Core I7 8th gen, 1.8 GHz, 16GB RAM

  11. #26
    Professional amateur Amurrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lincoln, NE
    Posts
    1,350
    See here http://tv.newtek.com/player_siggraph1.php

    Honestly, HC will be familiar to you and it's like 9.6 on steroids in some areas with some new features and optimizations. "Everything is a node" in CORE and even though it is not full featured yet, it is faster than 9.6 in areas and other areas still need work to date. Dig around a little in the software and you can see where it is going and it is eye-popping. As far as VPR is concerned, it is a preview as the name suggests and the video suggests and the F9 render is superior, but VPR is very close in many cases, since it is using part of the main renderer in its algorithm.

    Bottom line, you won't be disappointed.
    --Andrew
    Bono Animo Esto


    Intel Core i5 3570k
    nVidia GTX 970
    8GB DDR3 1333MHz
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit

  12. #27
    •••••••••••••••••••• rsfd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Europe, de
    Posts
    1,305
    Quote Originally Posted by evolross View Post
    There's two things that haven't been discussed very much in the LW10/LWHC/CORE updates:

    1. Will particles and hypervoxels be the same? Will we get node-based behavioral tools like 3DSMAX or Houdini? Will hypervoxel rendering get an update? (I assume ClothFX will be a apart of the Bullet Dynamics stuff, no?)

    2. Will there be a built-in render pass manager? Like Passport or Janus?
    I'm just assuming, but:
    As Core has a new render engine and shading system, I wouldn't expect Particles and Hypervoxels being the same as in LW-classic. Node-based behavioral seems to be a development goal for CORE, not LW-classic. As most development will be for CORE, there isn't much chance to see improved Hypervoxel rendering in LW-classic, but most likely in CORE in upcoming releases.
    Render Passes will be a sure feature of LW-CORE, but will only be usable when the Render Engine and the Shading System of LW-CORE are completed.
    My guess is that this will take at least 1 year of development.

    Quote Originally Posted by adamredwoods View Post
    If LW10 has instancing, then why isn't it a BIG, *new* feature?
    LW-CORE has instancing, my guess is that those instances can't be translated to LW-Layout for rendering, making them pretty useless at this time. (Except, if one renders in LW-CORE. Probably there's a way to change CORE instances to normal geometry to bring them into Layout, but that wouldn't be too helpful either).

  13. #28
    Super Member realgray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South
    Posts
    731
    I'm concerned about not seeing a single demo on OSX. I'm wondering how far behind the Mac version is. This is weighing heavily on my decision to buy.

  14. #29
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreamcube017 View Post
    Sometimes I wonder why the modeler and layout aren't sold seperatly. What if someone just likes the modeler and doesn't need the other parts?

    It's already seperate applications. So they could technically do it and sell it at half price or something.
    Well, if you're given a model and need to create a new surface for something, you'll need Modeler to do that.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  15. #30
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by adamredwoods View Post
    If LW10 has instancing, then why isn't it a BIG, *new* feature?
    Instancing will be the in CORE side of things, not LW, same with the UV tools and Bullet Dynamics.

    There is a feature list / breakdown on this page (although instancing is not on that list).

    http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/lw10.php
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •