View Poll Results: Have you ever used render commercial farm before?

Voters
33. You may not vote on this poll
  • I am using it regularly.

    2 6.06%
  • I used it once or twice.

    10 30.30%
  • I would use it if but its too expansive.

    6 18.18%
  • I have no need to use it.

    10 30.30%
  • Fuddle duddle!

    5 15.15%
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 58

Thread: best renderfarm

  1. #1

    best renderfarm

    Hi,
    I wonder how many ppl are actually used commercial render farm in the past.

    I am wondering if you as community could make any suggestions or requests that could help to make best possible service for lightwavers?

    I am going to choose best posts/suggestions this topic and not only try to introduce it in the service but give free 1000Ghz render time (TM) to the author(s).*


    * - Sorry our company does not support small print feature.
    Last edited by Soth; 05-29-2010 at 03:30 PM.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  2. #2
    No suggestions?

    Guys, 1000Ghz to (according to Rebus calculator) 100EU worth of rendering.

    I am giving it away for free, 1000 to anyone who will post as 3rd in this topic, 1000 to first suggestion and 1000 to best suggestion!

    Let my signature not fool you, I will get 'few' more computers before I will start the business. :P
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  3. #3
    Super Member arsad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    753
    me wants 1000 Hours err Ghz

    third....
    i7930, 12G Ram, 285GTX, 80G intel SSD, Win7 Pro 64. 30" HP LP3065
    X2 4400, 3G RAM, 7800GTX Vista64 Ultimate.
    5 bi-pro (2.0-2.8) 2G Ram XP-ProSP2.
    MacBook Pro 2.4C2D, 4g Ram, 8600GT Leopard 10.6.3

  4. #4
    Super Member arsad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    753
    Well actually I have never used a commercial render farm.
    Either my own little farm (now outdated) was enough or the place where I worked
    had their own render farm. But I guess sometimes it can come in handy.
    i7930, 12G Ram, 285GTX, 80G intel SSD, Win7 Pro 64. 30" HP LP3065
    X2 4400, 3G RAM, 7800GTX Vista64 Ultimate.
    5 bi-pro (2.0-2.8) 2G Ram XP-ProSP2.
    MacBook Pro 2.4C2D, 4g Ram, 8600GT Leopard 10.6.3

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    42
    Used Rebus a few months ago, no problem other than no plugin support, which is pretty standard, would use them again when up against a fierce delivery. Generally too expensive for everyday jobs though.

  6. #6
    Sinner Saved by Grace Larry_g1s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    2,454
    I've used Rebus in the past. Very good experience with them.

    Quote Originally Posted by robyht View Post
    Used Rebus a few months ago, no problem other than no plugin support, which is pretty standard, would use them again when up against a fierce delivery. Generally too expensive for everyday jobs though.
    They support Kray.
    Larry Vasquez | Genesis One Studios | company showreel

    Someday, I will be a CG animator (student at iAnimate.net).

  7. #7
    Michael Nicholson zapper1998's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    spokane washington usa
    Posts
    4,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have 4 nodes
    So far thats all I have every needed...
    Of course I could always use more, but I do not know when I would need it...

    michael

  8. #8
    The future is: Render Service tool for Cloud computing
    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=109506

    1,95US$ per High-CPU machine per hour. Houdini 10 supports cloud computing today.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Eagle66 View Post
    The future is: Render Service tool for Cloud computing
    But it is hard to work out what are exact specs of this machines and I will charge between $0.38-1.53/h

    I hope LightWave will support this soon, I will provide the service.

    There is another renderer where setting up render farm is matter of putting website address in the settings, just do not remember the name at the moment.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  10. #10
    Super Member arsad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    753
    a small plugin that sends the scene or several to the renderfarm would be nice.
    i7930, 12G Ram, 285GTX, 80G intel SSD, Win7 Pro 64. 30" HP LP3065
    X2 4400, 3G RAM, 7800GTX Vista64 Ultimate.
    5 bi-pro (2.0-2.8) 2G Ram XP-ProSP2.
    MacBook Pro 2.4C2D, 4g Ram, 8600GT Leopard 10.6.3

  11. #11
    Valiant NewTeKnight Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas, USA
    Posts
    13,055
    Quote Originally Posted by arsad View Post
    a small plugin that sends the scene or several to the renderfarm would be nice.
    Something else that would be useful is a pre-flight script (similar to the one in InDesign that checks your document for printing) but checks your scene for potential errors when rendering.

    I was looking to have a go at doing one myself, the only thing that might get in the way would be whether all of the things you would check for were available to LScript.
    UI / UX Designer @ NewTek
    __________________________________________________
    www.pixsim.co.uk : LightWave Video Tutorials & Tools


  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt View Post
    Something else that would be useful is a pre-flight script (similar to the one in InDesign that checks your document for printing) but checks your scene for potential errors when rendering.
    RebusFarm have one, it is not perfect (I would say sometimes arbitrary when giving suggestions and warnings) but does (good) job.

    For now whoever will use our farm will have me to check any possible errors and very good videotutorial. If we will not get bust too soon the script will follow.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  13. #13
    So it it is all there, ready to use, prices are 8 /4 /2¢ per Ghz/h*, I should be able to invoice next week.

    More computers on the way and the website will be on-line soon, anyone wants to use it now, give me a shout on Skype or email [email protected] (for now Skype might be faster).

    So to recap, this is family business, we run 100% on green electricity, when computers are not used for rendering they work to make our world better (more information soon) and most importantly we are 50-85% cheaper then competition!

    * - real ¢ not euro ¢.

    PS All computers have HT enabled, but we are not charging for HT (as some farms do).

    PPS There is still 1000Ghz to be won for best suggestion.
    Last edited by Soth; 06-06-2010 at 02:45 AM.
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  14. #14
    I visted Soth's render farm setup yesterday...results looked pretty impressive to me, he showed rendering from Lightwave and other renderers, he's running all new hardware and looking to add a few more render solutions soon in addition to Lightwave, pricing looks very competitive too.
    Last edited by cresshead; 06-06-2010 at 04:24 AM.
    stee+cat
    real name: steve gilbert
    http://www.cresshead.com/

    Q - How many polys?
    A - All of them!

  15. #15
    I've used farms very rarely in past but recently at work we have more and more work what can't be finished on time with office machines so i did checkout few renderfarm prices. Then i find out Soths and i tested one crazy night IES scene (takes about 50 min per frame on overclocked i7 920 (3.6Ghz) so it would take me weeks to finish it in office . Then i visited/contacted Soths http://www.garagefarm.net/ and rendered all in under 2 days and it worked great. I can only recommend it and i like that he uses latest Xeons from i7 generation (nehalem/westmere) so they are much Quicker than previous ones in Q2Q series.

    Also price is unbeatable and he is fellow LWaver

    thumbs up for Soth and his renderfarm.
    Last edited by Lewis; 06-07-2010 at 01:16 AM.
    RAM-Studio
    WS - Dual Xeon E5-2698v4/128GB/Win10x64/x TitanX(M) + 2x GTX 1080Ti + GTX 1080
    My LWM Video Car Modeling Tutorial

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •