Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Looking for LightWave operator

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17

    Looking for LightWave operator

    I am looking for someone capable of creating a LiveSet for the TriCaster TCXD300 from a Maya 3D source file. You can contact me at [email protected]

  2. #2
    Man of many cells. shrox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Eureka, CA
    Posts
    7,008
    Quote Originally Posted by jeakes View Post
    I am looking for someone capable of creating a LiveSet for the TriCaster TCXD300 from a Maya 3D source file. You can contact me at [email protected]
    Email sent
    shrox www.shrox.com
    -----------------------
    Heavy Metal Landing


    -----------------------
    I build the best spaceships, the biggest spaceships, they're great, you'll love them.

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,546
    Just to mention it, at this time at least creating a custom LiveSet suitable for TriCaster TCXD300 and 850 requires the TCXD300 LiveSet Developer Tools discussed in this post:

    http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106565

    (The really good news is that the compiler can work directly with properly rendered Maya output, and no longer depends on LightWave).
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    That is great news Steve, except -- do you have a list of people who are testing it for you? or could you send my request to your list.
    jon

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,546
    Honestly, I think those in a position to help will note it here, Jon - it's a frequent stop for most of those involved in this aspect of our products.

    (BTW, my wife is a big HGTV fan, so I'm happy to see you here.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17
    Then you will love what we are doing with the Tricaster. Besides eventually competing with HGTV with my old "live" show on the web via TriCaster (eventually) -- check out SchluterHouse.com -- go to the kitchen and you will see our next Virtual Set. If I can get it converted.
    jon

  7. #7
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,339
    That looks like it will turn out great Jon. You should be OK doing the conversion.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  8. #8
    I make things Eric Pratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    251
    I guess I should post something here then
    www.virtualsetworks.com
    Eric Pratt
    Virtualset.com - Virtual Set Marketplace
    Virtualsetworks.com - Tricaster Virtual Sets
    Virtualsetworks on Facebook - Get Social

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    17

    Maya to Virtual Set

    Hi Eric,
    I just missed you -- Have you had any experience getting from Maya to Virtual Sets?
    jon

  10. #10
    I make things Eric Pratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    251
    Not really, usually clients who have their sets in Maya send me a lightwave file or some other intermediate. I have a pretty good conversion program but the Maya portion of it runs resident as a part of Maya. But I could make it from images if push comes to shove.
    Eric Pratt
    Virtualset.com - Virtual Set Marketplace
    Virtualsetworks.com - Tricaster Virtual Sets
    Virtualsetworks on Facebook - Get Social

  11. #11
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,339
    I just went over this with someone today but with MAX. I feel using the FBX format with baked textures could be the best way to do this. This eliminates any special shaders in Maya and things like reflection, diffuse, transparency, etc. should transfer over correctly. Should is the key word though. I use Motion Builder with LW and the FBX file format and textures do not always transfer correctly. This does not matter to me as all I care in this case, is about the bone animation and morphs.
    Anyway, a simple test using FBX would not take long to find the answer, IMHO.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  12. #12
    I make things Eric Pratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    251
    I have an older version of MAX and a great converter that does a flawless job of getting stuff from MAX format into Lightwave, Polytrans-for-Max. FBX I've had mixed results with, in theory it should work fine but I've been trying to get an FBX workflow from Lightwave into RTSET which only takes FBX files and there keep being issues with them telling me it's my implementation of FBX (in Lightwave) that is the problem. I have gotten a few FBX models that work, and some that don't but it would seem like the best intermediate format for the 3 programs.
    Eric Pratt
    Virtualset.com - Virtual Set Marketplace
    Virtualsetworks.com - Tricaster Virtual Sets
    Virtualsetworks on Facebook - Get Social

  13. #13
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,339
    I don't use the built-in LW FBX plug-in and instead I use the last one Alias made (could have been Autodesk) before they stopped making a LW FBX Plug-in. It has been working for me with Motion Builder.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  14. #14
    I make things Eric Pratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    251
    I had tried that too but I thought the last ones they made were compatible only with Lightwave 8, am I wrong?
    Eric Pratt
    Virtualset.com - Virtual Set Marketplace
    Virtualsetworks.com - Tricaster Virtual Sets
    Virtualsetworks on Facebook - Get Social

  15. #15
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,339
    No it works fine in LW 9.6 32 bit.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FBX_602_LW96_32.jpg 
Views:	161 
Size:	61.9 KB 
ID:	85788  
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •