Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: modeling the Ironman helmet

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33

    modeling the Ironman helmet

    I'm looking for suggestions on how to model the Ironman helmet. I've had a go with splines and patches, but it's a bit tedious that way. How would you go about it?

  2. #2
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    I'd go subd for it. Someone modeled a great cartoony iron man. I think it was on scifi-meshes.com a year or two ago. Here are some wires from the model that he did. Some really nice work. I can't recall who the artist was, though.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ironman06.jpg 
Views:	154 
Size:	153.2 KB 
ID:	84300

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ironman16-10.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	125.0 KB 
ID:	84301
    Last edited by JeffrySG; 04-24-2010 at 12:24 PM.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Pixel and Poly Pusher JeffrySG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    5,738
    http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/s...light=iron+man

    this is the artist from the first post... new suit build...


    reel
    http://pussycat.cgsociety.org/gallery/791759/
    Last edited by JeffrySG; 04-24-2010 at 12:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Super Member SplineGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hastings, New Zealand
    Posts
    7,731
    If I were going to do it with splines I would not model in any of the details with the but get the b asic form and underlying flow so when I did shift to SubD mode I can grow or extend the underlying geometry out.

  6. #6
    VFX CG Supervisor Mike_RB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    2,184
    Build the mark1 helmet. Its way cooler.
    my personal company: http://www.elementvfx.com
    the people I've worked for: http://www.theembassyvfx.com

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by SplineGod View Post
    If I were going to do it with splines I would not model in any of the details with the but get the b asic form and underlying flow so when I did shift to SubD mode I can grow or extend the underlying geometry out.
    I think that's where I'm going wrong with the splines, trying to put in too much detail with them.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by JeffrySG View Post
    http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/s...light=iron+man

    this is the artist from the first post... new suit build...


    reel
    http://pussycat.cgsociety.org/gallery/791759/
    Thanks. It's good to see how someone else went about it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •