Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: First successful ecosystem

  1. #1
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143

    First successful ecosystem

    Finally! (It helps to not use radiosity when rendering these suckers.)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CraterLand.jpg 
Views:	903 
Size:	594.6 KB 
ID:	83590   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CraterLand2.jpg 
Views:	894 
Size:	435.4 KB 
ID:	83591  

  2. #2
    Super Member JohnMarchant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Murcia, Spain
    Posts
    3,039
    Nice Eco systems, not had allot of luck myself and radiosity is definitely the killer. Suns a bit big on the second one, but the first one i really like
    Dell XPS 15
    15.6-inch (3840 x 2160) 4K 282ppi IPS LCD
    Intel i7 7700HQ 2.8GHz
    Windows 10 64Bit
    NVidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
    1TB SDD
    32Gb Ram

    LightWave 2019.03

    Very nice Laptop

  3. #3
    Have no idea the work you had to put to get there but they look nice.

    Render times?

    Cheers

  4. #4
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnMarchant View Post
    Nice Eco systems, not had allot of luck myself and radiosity is definitely the killer.
    Yeah, anything more than "Global Ambiance" and you're in for a looong wait. GA works pretty well for areas in direct sunlight, but shaded portions come out a bit wrong. (Take a look at the trees on shadow side of the hilly region in the second image: the ground is too bright because the trees only cast sunlight shadows and not indirect illumination shadows in the GA algorithm.)

    Suns a bit big on the second one, but the first one i really like
    I was playing around with different settings, and who says that's Earth anyhow?


    Quote Originally Posted by probiner View Post
    Have no idea the work you had to put to get there but they look nice.

    Render times?
    Both of those weighed in at around half an hour (4-core 2.66GHz i5 iMac) at 1920x1080 using Global Ambiance and "Broadcast" quality settings. I've got that second one rendering at 2560x1440 w/ radiosity just to see. It's 60% done and has said it has 12 hours remaining for the past two days.
    Last edited by jrandom; 03-30-2010 at 09:41 AM.

  5. #5
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143
    Here's the version done with Radiosity. Final render time: 51 hours, 21 minutes.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CraterLand2b_Large.jpg 
Views:	696 
Size:	275.5 KB 
ID:	83658  

  6. #6
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    51 hours ?

    That is lil' bit excessive ...

    What are your rendering settings ?
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  7. #7
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by UltraViolet View Post
    51 hours ?

    That is lil' bit excessive ...

    What are your rendering settings ?
    Size: 2560x1400 (so I can use it as my desktop background)
    Quality: Broadcast, modified to use "Smooth" AA
    Light: Radiosity w/ default settings

    51 hours is an awful render time. I need to learn which settings to tweak so I can get similar results in less time.

  8. #8
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    What version of Vue are you using ?
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  9. #9
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by UltraViolet View Post
    What version of Vue are you using ?
    Vue 8 xStream (in standalone mode at the moment, although I've payed around a little bit with creating and rendering Vue scenes from within lightwave to see how AA and motion-blur integrate).

  10. #10
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    I'm using Vue6Infinite ...

    Here is few rendering suggestions, hope it works for ya
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VueRenderingSettings.jpg 
Views:	580 
Size:	261.1 KB 
ID:	83661  
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  11. #11
    eye kan kode gud jrandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by UltraViolet View Post
    I'm using Vue6Infinite ...

    Here is few rendering suggestions, hope it works for ya
    Ooo! Thank you! Always good to have a sane staring point.

  12. #12
    Craptose Intolerant UltraViolet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    279
    No problem ...

    One more thing, try to stay away from procedural terrains if you can (they can increase your rendering time significantly if you are not careful), if you have a lots of trees, details they provide are often not necessary.

    If you already have procedural terrain that you like, you can always convert it to standard one in resolution of your choice
    These moments, as beautiful as they are, are evil when they're gone...

  13. #13
    John108
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Posts
    3
    Nice work

  14. #14
    Registered User SonicN2O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    485
    Holy **** that's good!
    Nice job
    "'Sup, Djents?"

    iMac Quad Core i7
    24GB RAM 1600MHz
    GeForce GTX680MX 2GB

  15. #15
    Registered User SonicN2O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    485
    Quote Originally Posted by jrandom View Post
    Finally! (It helps to not use radiosity when rendering these suckers.)
    The first one was really good! how did you make the terrain, environment, etc?
    "'Sup, Djents?"

    iMac Quad Core i7
    24GB RAM 1600MHz
    GeForce GTX680MX 2GB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •