Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Video glitching when using 3 external sources

  1. #1

    Question Video glitching when using 3 external sources

    In VT[5]d (Build080923), using a SX-84.

    If i have 3 separate external sources coming in, on each on FX, MAIN, & PVW, the video out & software monitor for Program glitch all over the place. Stuttering, field reversal, general glitching, etc. Makes it completely unusable.

    If I switch any bus to an internal source (I tested BLACK, DDRs & EXT) it all works just fine.

    All inputs are composite, each on their own row on the SX-84 (1a,2a,3a,4a, etc..). And ti makes no difference whether there is anything connected to the source or not.

    If I was to hazard a guess; it looks like a sync issue, perhaps of relations to times gone by when PVW & KEY (before it became FX) had to be locked together when VT only supported 2 external sources?

    Of course Preview out looks just fine. Figures.


    Either way.. really looking for a fix. Any Ides?

    - Mikko

  2. #2
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    Are you using a VTPro Card? Meaning when you purchased the VT Hardware did it come with VT4 or VT5 Software or was it VT2, VT3 that you later upgraded?
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  3. #3
    It's a new complete turnkey VT[5] system purchased last May from Key Code Media.

    I'd assume they put in full modern hardware.

    - Mikko
    Last edited by mikkowilson; 03-01-2010 at 03:03 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,725
    Sounds like an issue with the PCI Bus Latency setting on your motherboard. Give our tech support a call and they can walk you thru adjusting it 210-341-8444.
    Zane Condren
    Senior Integrated Production Specialist

  5. #5
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,628
    The bus latency adjustment may not be configurable depending on your MB. Bus latency should be set to 128 if it is.

    If you have the preview output in the VT enabled - turn it off.
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  6. #6
    I'll give the bus latency a shot when I get a chance.

    However we have a 4 day basketball tournament starting in the morning (8 hours...), not sure if I'll get a chance before then.

    However...
    Quote Originally Posted by jcupp View Post
    If you have the preview output in the VT enabled - turn it off.
    This worked! Thanks Jeff!

    We are a school, and we actually use Preview Out educationally all the time, so I will need to get it back eventually. But this will get me though the week (need the 3 sources to use a LiveSet to PIP in our scoreboard cam). Thank you again.

    - Mikko

  7. #7
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,651
    Some older systems with lower FSB speeds can't support both LiveSets and Preview out, in my experience.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  8. #8
    It's ALL about the light Paul Lara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,830
    Quote Originally Posted by mikkowilson View Post
    the video out & software monitor for Program glitch all over the place. Stuttering, field reversal, general glitching, etc. Makes it completely unusable... really looking for a fix. Any Ideas?
    What is your motherboard? Does it have a 400MHz front side bus?
    If so, that is a hardware bottleneck that will require at least double that speed, Mikko.
    Don't stream it - TriCast it!

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,651
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Lara View Post
    If so, that is a hardware bottleneck that will require at least double that speed, Mikko.
    Yep, I'll support the 'at least' too - I've got a Dell with an 800 mHz FSB that won't cut it.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Poplar Bluff, Missouri
    Posts
    6

    Similar Issues on HP xw8200 System

    I am having similar issues with my live video locking up and glitching during switching. I recently had to replace our older SuperMicro based system with an HP xw8200 Work Station. This machine should be more than enough to run VT5. My issues happen especially while trying to use the title templates and DSK on this HP machine. This all happens during live switching. Here are the system Specs:

    XP Professional
    Dual Xeon 3.6 Ghz processors
    4 gigs of ram
    4 striped SATA drives for video connected via Highpoint 3210 SATA RAID card
    SATA system drive - connected via motherboard SATA slot
    GeForce FX 5 Graphics Card
    800Mhz FSB.

    I have the VT4 production suite that came with the SX-84 and the RS-8. I recently installed the VT5 upgrade with all available updates onto this machine and placed my VT Card into the PCI-X 133 slot.

    What am I doing wrong fellas? Is it the card placement? I did not have this problem with the older Supermicro based system that just died on me. VT5 ran like a champ in it, but it was a Turn Key system that was built by a newtek Dealer. Any help that you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikkowilson View Post
    In VT[5]d (Build080923), using a SX-84.

    If i have 3 separate external sources coming in, on each on FX, MAIN, & PVW, the video out & software monitor for Program glitch all over the place. Stuttering, field reversal, general glitching, etc. Makes it completely unusable.

    If I switch any bus to an internal source (I tested BLACK, DDRs & EXT) it all works just fine.

    All inputs are composite, each on their own row on the SX-84 (1a,2a,3a,4a, etc..). And ti makes no difference whether there is anything connected to the source or not.

    If I was to hazard a guess; it looks like a sync issue, perhaps of relations to times gone by when PVW & KEY (before it became FX) had to be locked together when VT only supported 2 external sources?

    Of course Preview out looks just fine. Figures.


    Either way.. really looking for a fix. Any Ides?

    - Mikko

  11. #11
    Grizzled Veteran jcupp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    1,628
    That HP workstation has an 800MHz FSB which is marginal for VT[5]
    -Jeff


    My TriCaster Blog
    TriCaster Tally Lights

    Gear Used: TC1, NC1 I/O, TC 460, TC Mini 4i, TS 100, TS 4000

  12. #12
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Poplar Bluff, Missouri
    Posts
    6

    HP workstation vs. SuperMicro X6DAL-TG

    The SuperMicro system that we were using was a X6DAL-TG based system which also featured an 800Mhz FSB which is what the system specs show for VT5 Machines. What else could it possibly be? This morning I moved the card to a standard 32-Bit PCI slot and it did not show any signs of improvement. I also checked the bios and made sure the Bus latency was set to 128.

    I am open to any and all suggestions at this point. We just recently purchased a Edirol (Roland) LVS-800 SD live mixer for live event switches, but would really miss the VT system if I can not get it running again. We can not afford to get another machine at this point, I need to get the HP machine working some how. If not, then I will be forced to do it the old fashioned way with a Canopus D/A A/D Box capturing with Adobe OnLocation and editing with SpeedEdit.
    Last edited by sseawright; 03-19-2010 at 12:12 PM.

  13. #13
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Poplar Bluff, Missouri
    Posts
    6
    Any chance that the 64-Bit version of XP is causing all of this?

  14. #14

    glitch

    Make sure the audio csable to a SX84 iss the newer VGA type cable not the older VT cable with the 2 1/8th inch audio plugs.

    The SX84 and the VT pro card need the Video and control lines in the newer style cable.

    Pete
    Last edited by Pete Draves; 03-19-2010 at 02:09 PM. Reason: speling
    Pete Draves
    CV Productions
    Oak Creek, WI
    [email protected]

  15. #15
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Poplar Bluff, Missouri
    Posts
    6

    Control Cables?

    The cables that I am using are the ones that originally came with the production suite, which again ran really good on the SuperMicro machine. They are all VGA cables coming from the two cards to the SX-84, VT Pro and daughter card. Acts like there is not enough through put on the PCI slot. It is set to latency of 128. Is that correct?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •