Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Creature Sketch

Creature Sketch

I'm a bit pants when it comes to designing characters and my anatomy knowledge sucks, but I do like to practice every now and again - so here is my voxel sketch for a creature.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CreatureAttempt2_WIP.jpg 
Views:	320 
Size:	106.2 KB 
ID:	82576  
    i7 X3930/32GB/Quadro 4000

Nice work on that Steve. Im really enjoying 3dcoats voxel tools as well.
    Did you model from reference?

Thanks Larry.

I started off just letting the voxels flow a bit and seeing where things went. As the forms took a bit more shape I studied some anatomy books to see where the muscles should go.

Javis Jones: Night Crew geothefaust's Avatar
    Hey looking good! I am quite familiar with that shader, lol.

How long did it take you to sculpt it? Did you use the surface tools or straight voxels?

I'm finding the more anatomy you study, the more and more you can sculpt things from imagination. I'm so used to reference images for initial creations, and I suppose anatomy books are reference anyway, that I've relied much too heavily in the past on using reference images instead of my own imagination. That is to say, for sculpting, I have been drawing my own reference images for a while now.

How long did it take you to sculpt it? Did you use the surface tools or straight voxels?
    Thanks Jarvis

I spent a few hours on it - probably a few more than someone who knows what there doing. But most of that was spent changing things that didn't look quite right - thats when I picked up the anatomy book! The initial head sculpt I did over an evening.

Need to practice some texturing now, just trying to find a good base for a alien creature dude

Used voxels and surface tools, but mainly voxels.

Name:	CreatureAttempt2_WIP.jpg 
Views:	216 
Size:	124.2 KB 
ID:	82588  
    Last edited by stevecullum; 02-25-2010 at 06:37 PM.

Dutch Bacon