Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24

Thread: Blending (Mode >> Texture Displacement) HowTo?

  1. #16
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malm÷, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    Ok... I managed to get something that actually works decent enough (but still not similar to a Layer-node with Texture displacement).

    The trick is to convert the bump to a scalar before hooking it into the Scale-input. In this case, I set the converter (Vector Scalar node) to Length.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Nodal_displacement_basics_v2.jpg 
Views:	163 
Size:	196.9 KB 
ID:	82195  
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  2. #17
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malm÷, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    ...and here is the content...

    Attached Files Attached Files
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  3. #18
    cheers, I got some new ideas thx to you guys and I am playing with settings
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  4. #19
    Worms no more! Free fun! Dodgy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,276
    Quote Originally Posted by Cageman View Post
    I did try that but it didn't displace anything. I used a Ripple texture in one node and a Turbulence in another node. I then hooked the Ripple texture into the Bump-input on the Turbulence node and then took that into the displacement. Since the Ripple-texture is animated by default, I was hoping to get a similar effect as in using a Layer-node with Texture displacement, but it didn't do anything.

    Sorry, I miss-read the OP as he wanted to displace a texture using another, not to displace the mesh using two.
    Push the software, don't let it push YOU!
    My own plugins and work:www.mikegreen.name
    LaptopSetup:corei7 2.4GHz nvidia GT 650M 8Gig win8 64
    WorkSetup:core i7 3.4Ghz nvidia Quadro 2000 12Gig Ram Win7

  5. #20
    William Vaughan
    Creating Texture Displacement and more in the Node Editor:
    ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/w3dw/td.mov
    Cheers
    Tomek
    GarageFarm.NET
    The Cheapest Render Farm - 10,000 cores and growing!

    Skype: garage.farm

  6. #21
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malm÷, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    AHh... yes ofcourse *doh*
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  7. #22
    Dutch Bacon
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    260
    As I read it you want to mix/blend two textures into one? Why don't you just check the Enable Bump and setup the displacement in the Surface Editor?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	EnableBump.jpg 
Views:	131 
Size:	208.6 KB 
ID:	82550  
    Last edited by Rove; 02-24-2010 at 03:43 PM.

  8. #23
    Almost newbie Cageman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Malm÷, SWEDEN
    Posts
    7,650
    Quote Originally Posted by Rove View Post
    As I read it you want to mix/blend two textures into one? Why don't you just check the Enable Bump and setup the displacement in the Surface Editor?
    What he wants to do is to do something that is similar to using Texture Displacement, which is a Blendingmode. One texture displaces the other, and that result is shown. It is not the same thing as using Add or Multiply etc. But Williams tutorial on the matter is of course the way to do it; take texture A, put it into either Position, Rotation or Scale of texture B.

    Done.
    Senior Technical Supervisor
    Cinematics Department
    Massive - A Ubisoft Studio
    -----
    Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4GHz
    16GB Ram
    GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
    Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #24
    Dutch Bacon
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    260
    ah ok. using a texture displacement as an input for another texture.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •