Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Render to Flash Vector Image Format

  1. #1
    Amused
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Keeping Austin weird
    Posts
    1,322

    Render to Flash Vector Image Format

    I'm currently rendering out PNG images, which are bitmap. Is there a way to render out a vector image format from LightWave that can be imported into Flash? I'm using LW 8.5.

  2. #2
    Super Member nickdigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Burbank, California USA
    Posts
    4,576
    There's Swift3D. But it's a 3rd party plug-in.
    http://www.erain.com/Products/Plug-ins/

  3. #3
    Is there a reason to use the Vector? PNGs work great in Flash.

    I found the output varied tremendously on what you were making.

    It may be much better to do it post.

  4. #4
    Amused
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Keeping Austin weird
    Posts
    1,322
    Thanks nick, I'm looking at Swift.

    Speedmonk - Yeah, PNGs look great as long as the SWF is shown in its native size. But if the user were to enlarge it to fullscreen, or some random size in between, PNGs don't scale well compared to vector images. I can use the 'trace bitmap' tool in Flash and set the minimum area to 1 pixel in order to retain my shading, but it seems clumsy. Maybe that's just the best way for now.

  5. #5
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,051
    That *is* the best way - or going through an intermediate step like Illustrator. Also, use one of the celshading methods in LightWave to make sure you limit the palette to make the autotrace easier and work better.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  6. #6
    Amused
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Keeping Austin weird
    Posts
    1,322
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    That *is* the best way - or going through an intermediate step like Illustrator. Also, use one of the celshading methods in LightWave to make sure you limit the palette to make the autotrace easier and work better.

    B
    Thanks BeeVee,

    My stuff is nicely 3D shaded with some subtle tones, which gives it a unique look that sets it apart from other Flash cartoons. Downside is the issue I now have, so it's a compromise. The trace bitmap increases the file size by a factor of ten, so I think I'll stick to the bitmaps for now.

  7. #7
    Amused
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Keeping Austin weird
    Posts
    1,322
    One other method I've tried is to make the original PNG images, FLA stage, and resulting SWF at twice the size of the website embed code attributes for height and width. The files are a little bit bigger, but you can zoom one step and retain smooth artwork. Is there a downside to this?

  8. #8
    You could also have actionscript detect the size at which it is being viewed and load the appropriate assets.

    It is really a performance issue, if the frame rate holds up with the larger assets then it's only the file size you need to worry about.

  9. #9
    Engineer/Entrepreneur Sekhar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    2,124
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Wood View Post
    Thanks nick, I'm looking at Swift.
    I have this plugin, and it works great if the detail is low. Note though that if you're using LW 9.x, you will need to put all your objects in one layer in Layout. Also, they haven't updated the plugin since Feb 2007.

  10. #10
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    29
    Is there any new plugin or tool into LW to export a render to a vector format? Illustrator, flash, eps...

    Swift3d it´s great but doesn´t works with LW10, and I need to use Shift Camera for some perspectives.

    It would be nice that newtek will implement this kind of tool into LW.

    Any idea or sugestion to solve this problem?
    The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.

  11. #11
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,051
    Like I say earlier, exporting to Illustrator and doing an autotrace there *is* the best way.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  12. #12
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by BeeVee View Post
    Like I say earlier, exporting to Illustrator and doing an autotrace there *is* the best way.

    B
    Thanks, I've tried with illustrator importing the render(a png image) and using image trace in illustrator, but the result is awful.

    The render is a simple edge render, all white except the edge. I´m doing something wrong?
    The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.

  13. #13
    LightWave documentation BeeVee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pessac
    Posts
    5,051
    What settings did you use in the Autotracer? It has many presets. If all you have is a mono image, then using the simplest preset is probably the best idea, but you can always play with the options if that's not exactly right.

    B
    Ben Vost - NewTek LightWave 3D development
    LightWave 3D Trial Edition
    AMD Threadripper 1950X, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (4GB and 768 CUDA cores) and GTX 1080 (8GB and 2560 CUDA cores) driver version 430.86
    AMD FX8350 4.2 GHz, Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium 64-bit, 16GB RAM, nVidia GeForce GTX 1050Ti (416.34, 4GB and 768 CUDA cores)
    Dell Server, Windows 10 Pro, Intel Xeon E3-1220 @3.10 GHz, 8 GB RAM, Quadro K620
    Laptop with Intel i7, nVidia Quadro 2000Mw/ 2GB (377.83 and 192 CUDA cores), Windows 10 Professional 64-bit, 8GB RAM
    Mac Mini 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 10.10.3

  14. #14
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    29
    I´ve tried with several settings but that is the best I can get. I´m not sure if I´m doing something wrong.
    Should I change something in LW render? thicker lines for example.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Autotrace_03.jpg 
Views:	160 
Size:	66.0 KB 
ID:	110906Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Autotrace_02.jpg 
Views:	178 
Size:	65.8 KB 
ID:	110907Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Autotrace_01.jpg 
Views:	218 
Size:	120.2 KB 
ID:	110908

    Last picture is the original render.
    Last edited by neuromancer; 02-01-2013 at 02:27 AM.
    The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.

  15. #15
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    29
    I've tried with Corel Draw X6 and the result is almost perfect. With higher resolution render you get better results.
    The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •