Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: RPF format

  1. #1
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340

    RPF format

    I have got the RPF format to work well for depth use.
    But I'm having a hard time with depth blur.
    Any one get it to work?

    Also the aux channels for say UV texturing in DFX+ again any advise is welcome.

    Thanks
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  2. #2

    Depth Blur

    It's pretty straightforward - what problems are you having?

  3. #3
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    I don't know how to respond when you say "pretty straight foward".
    Guess I'll read a little more and figure it out.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  4. #4
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    houston
    Posts
    96
    Do you have any screens of what you are trying to accomplish. I went to a LW training seminar hosted by Lee Stranahan and he demonstrated something along this line. I'm not sure if I understood what he did completely, but if I can be of any help I'd be more than happy to offer. I have a question also. Can I take advantage of RLA & RPF in PS7. I'm trying to set up a few objects at varying distances from the camera and have the objects in the center be in focus while the objects in the foreground & background are out of focus. Lee did this, but he used Fusion. I believe he used the Z-Buffer to accomplish this or the object ID. When he did it he just clicked on the object he wanted to be in focus and it automatically changed focus as he clicked on the various objects.
    2X2GB G5
    2.5GB RAM
    ATI Radeon 9600XT

  5. #5
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Sorry I took so long to reply.
    I've been reading the manual and got no where so I started to experiment.
    I guess what I need is one of those Lee classes to set off the light bulb.
    Been busy with other stuff but plan to go at it again next week.
    Any thing you remeber would be great.
    Just send it to me via email.
    Even it's partial memory from what you saw.

    Thanks in advance
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  6. #6

    RPF

    Well, I'm not going to say DON'T take the classes, but I'm not pimping them in a discussion forum...

    The main trick is to NOT use the normal image savers...

    Use the Image Filer > RPF Export plugin - it's a built in image saver that actually saves the data you need in a compositing program...

    No support in Photoshop right now - you need Digital Fusion / After Effects Production Bundle / Combustion / Shake or that kind of thing....

  7. #7
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    I've composited before in AE using RLA.
    It was very handy to adding a object to an already finished animation.
    Now that I have DFX+, I want to use RPF and all that comes with it.
    So I read the manual to try to say add a texture or replace a UV texture.
    Can't figure that out.
    Another is the shadow and a I guess all of the 3D channels.
    All I have been able to do is the depth merge, which works much better than AE in the fact that I can see and pick the point of the depth channel I want.

    So I need more input (as number 5 would say).

    Waiting for a flow being sent to me from a guy on pigfly.
    I think once I see one flow using a 3D channel, I will figure it out.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  8. #8
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    33

    RFP probs

    Jose,

    did you get to figure this out?

    I have been trying to output RFP from LW and then use these in DF (full) for texture remapping.

    But I have been having problems with this - it could be that the files output by LW are corrupt (I get odd patterns in the DF displays when I try to pick objects or materials), or I could be making a mess myself.

    I've tried but so far I've had no reply from either Newtek or Eyeon about this.

    Did you succeed in what you were doing?

    Julian

  9. #9
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Same here, lines through the object.
    Posted to pigsfly and hoping they have an answer.

    Later
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  10. #10
    Some of the extra buffers in the RLA and RPF saver filters, like Material, object, UVs, etc. are generated by shaders which can only fill in pixels that are actually shaded. With Adaptive Sampling turned on, some pixels get skipped. The answer is to turn off adaptive sampling. Also, for UVs to be available in the image, the surface must use the UVs.

  11. #11
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    33

    Adaptive sampling

    Archie,

    thanks for that - turning off adaptive sampling fixes the lines in the object.

    Now all I have to do is get the UV map to be recognised by DF - currently the whole frame gets filled by a single pixel, even though the rendered LW frame contains the UV mapped texture, but I'm not confident I'm not at fault there...

    Working on it...

    Julian

  12. #12
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Turning off adaptive worked for removing the lines, thanks.

    All is well but I had to select rotate 90 in the texture tool for the UV image map to show up right on my experiment cube.

    Thank you for helping,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  13. #13
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    OK try this,
    I made a box with the front (that faces the camera ) polygon deleted.
    Called it room.
    Gave the URN object a UV texture.
    Loaded both into LW.
    Placed the URN in the room centered.
    Moved the light and camera for the test and turned off adaptive sampling and turned on raytrace shadow.
    Used ext. RPF in image proc.
    Used the UV in the urn surface.
    Rendered out as room with urn.
    Now cloned the urn.
    Moved it in front of the original urn and to the left.
    Changed the RPF name to urn.
    Made the room and first urn unseen by camera.
    rendered.
    Loader in DFX of room with urn.
    Inserted a loader and selected the urn.
    No need to depth merge because I rendered it in place for this example.
    But it cast no shadow because nothing in LW to cast onto (unseen by camera).
    So I insert shadow after the urn.
    I pick Z as the Z map channel (defaults to Alpha).
    I then drag the room with urn output to the green arrow of the shadow.
    I then pick the back wall of the room as the Z far plane and the very front of the room (Floor neares camera) as the Z near plane.
    Now I move the shadow position (Center position place tool) and then play with the light position (Far left position tool).
    I also move the sliders for the Light distance and min. depth mao light dist with min being 0 and light dist. being .86 for a look that matched the length of the shadow with the LW rendered shadow.
    I've done this before but now I don't know what I have done different from the past but the shadow is conforming to the curvature of the urn in the rear as well as the corners of the wall.
    This is freakin cool.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  14. #14
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,340
    Here is a DivX animation of the DFX shadow animated to show you what I'm talking about.

    Take care,
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  15. #15
    Newbie Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    33
    Cool, like you say - surely you shouldn't be able to do this in a 2D app

    Have you tried to put a different texture on the urn in DF? The texture tool is supposed to do this - give it (as I understand it) an RPF file with UV map data in it as background, and a new texture image as foreground, and you should be able to map the new texture using the UV map onto the urn (say) by picking the urn (use object in common controls).

    Most of this works for me - just the final mapping of the new texture maps a single pixel everywhere in the chosen object, as if the RPF file didn't contain a UV map. But since I had checked "TextureUV Buffer" in the LW ext RPF export shader, this information should have been there.

    Has anyone else managed to get the texture tool to work with LW RPF files?

    Regards,

    Julian

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •