Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Moving video across the screen?

  1. #1
    Editing is my life...ugh. jamestownhodag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Jamestown, ND
    Posts
    100

    Unhappy Making a "Wild Ad" like a car or furniture ad.

    I do basic editing with speededit and tricaster pro. Now I want to know how to do the wild car and furniture ads. You know the ones, with flying DVEs and flying CG. How do you do this in speededit? In Tricaster Pro I found that I can make CG and "Stills" fly up/down right/left in "Edit Text". My car club wants me to make ad like those "wild car ads" So I need a little help on how to make them fly up/down and all around. thanks. Do they make a video or book with all these kinds of requests yet? I would buy one or the whole series. thanks.
    Last edited by jamestownhodag; 11-10-2009 at 03:08 PM.

  2. #2
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    It's essentially the same process. Where exactly are you running into difficulty?
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  3. #3
    Editing is my life...ugh. jamestownhodag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Jamestown, ND
    Posts
    100
    Steve redid my request. Sorry for the confusion.

  4. #4
    Paintball Video Geek billmi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Palm Bay, FL
    Posts
    1,773
    There is a book - the SpeedEdit manual - and Steve has summarized it pretty well, it's basically the same as flying text around.

    You'll want to use the positioner panel within the control tree. From that view you can scale, rotate, flip, move, blur, crop, etc. at different key frames, and SpeedEdit will animate the movement between them.
    Toasting with NewTek since 1991 - Corinthian Media Services
    Riding Quiet on an Electric Ninja.

  5. #5
    Editing is my life...ugh. jamestownhodag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Jamestown, ND
    Posts
    100
    Is the same for Tricaster Pro also?

  6. #6
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    The "Edit Media" module in current TriCaster software is a simplified form of SpeedEDIT. Notably, while Edit Media has a Positioner that is fairly similar to the one in SpeedEDIT, it lacks SpeedEDITs powerful spline graph editor, which provides more elaborate motion control. That aside, the process is much the same for either SpeedEDIT or Edit Media, and there is no real difference in the setup whether you are handling stills or clips.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  7. #7
    Editing is my life...ugh. jamestownhodag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Jamestown, ND
    Posts
    100
    Just figured out the Keyframe command in the control panel. Neat!

  8. #8
    Multimedia Magician
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    282
    I'm curious how you stack videos one after the other (from left to right) and then gradually slide them all across the screen as one long ribbon of connected video. Essentially, like having multiple video monitors side by side, and then having a video camera sweep across them all.

  9. #9
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Here's something I did so many years ago I can hardly remember - but it was done in Aura, or Mirage, I forget.

    movingfilm.mov
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #10
    Multimedia Magician
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    282
    That was neat, thanks for sharing. Is there a way to do this in SE2 using multiple video clips?

  11. #11
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Oh, I expect it could be done - the trick would be doing it elegantly. Suppose you build a horizontally tile-able graphic of one filmstrip frame, laid it over the clip stretched to full clip duration, then scaled the clip down to fit the frame. Then, you could make those two elements a sub-project (mute the audio). Scale the sub-project down to say, 10%. Ctrl + drag it to the right to create a copy on the timeline. Use positioner tools to place them side by side on the screen, rinse and repeat. There are varations, but that's a starting point ...
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  12. #12
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    Wow. Trip down memory lane - just found another one in the same vein from the near-Amiga era.
    edit4s.mov
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  13. #13
    Ah, sweet memories. After I watched your clip, I gazed fondly at the two Amiga Video Toaster Flyers (and other assorted Amiga and VT equipment) we have sitting in our office.

  14. #14
    Multimedia Magician
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    282
    I miss my Toaster 4000. I mean, I have it somewhere... but tucked away out of sight, I'm sure.

    For the video pan, I was thinking about a full screen slide. One full screen slides off, while another slides into it's place... and then another, and then another... always moving... maybe 7 or 8 screens, and then looping the sequence. It can be done awkwardly by creating key frames for each video. But often times it's really tricky to get them to all move at the exact same rate of speed.

  15. #15
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,392
    I would give them all identical motion using the ToolShed, then simply add progessive multiples of an appropriate offset to start/end positions.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •