Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help Windows 64 bit mpeg2 playback problems

  1. #1
    Newbie Member halley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    83

    Help Windows 64 bit mpeg2 playback problems

    Has any one had any problems editing MPEG2 from TraCaster on a Windows Vista 64 bit machine?

    In windows media player it plays back in a fast spastic way and the audio clicks and beeps with no real understandable sound.

    In Adobe Premier and After Effects it creates red frames like it is dropping frames and renders it out that way.

    I installed the drivers that came with the TriCaster (studio 2.5) and the Tec at NewTek stead it was my MPEG decoder, But other MPEG2s play well on my machine and tried to down load new ones with no luck.

    One other thing it all works fine on my Windows XP 32 bit machine at work.

    Has any one had this problem and can you please let me know how to fix it.

    Thanks for the help
    Tai

  2. #2
    Always Learning
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    88
    Hi Tai,
    Any solution? Let's know PLEASE!
    I have similar issues with a few schools that just went to Adobe Premiere CS4.
    Ken

  3. #3
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    I tested Premier Pro with TC's MPEG2 files recently without success.

    (The same files played back reasonably well in WMP, and loaded and played just fine in SpeedEDIT.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  4. #4
    Product and Vertical Market Manager - Digital Broadcast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    NewTek
    Posts
    1,685
    Windows Vista Business edition does not come with an MPEG2 decoder. You will need to download one from the internet. I have had success with the K Lite Codec pack.
    Zane Condren
    Product and Vertical Market Manager - Digital Broadcast
    NewTek Inc.
    new.tk/call

  5. #5
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,331
    According to Adobe's website, PPro does not support MPEG2 import under OSX, although HDV is separately listed. The Windows version is supposed to, but regarding the trial edition the website says "The file importer does not recognize file types, such as MPEG and XDCAM, that are not included in trial mode".
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  6. #6
    Newbie Member halley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    83
    Zane, Steve,
    Thanks for the help but have had no luck with any of the suggestions. Would it be helpful if I captured how it plays on video and upload it. I unfortunately don’t have a good video camera at home and will have to use my G-1 phone.

    I forgot to mention the variety of Adobe I am running it’s CS3
    I think i'm running Vista Home I will check when I can
    Last edited by halley; 10-30-2009 at 02:33 PM.

  7. #7
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,332
    Just as a FYI, TC recorded MPG2 work fine with PP CS4 on my desktop. Note, my desktop has VT[5] and is running XP pro so it is not the same but more to let you know it works with PP CS4 is all.
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •