Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 45 of 45

Thread: Video tutorial for LiveSet generator

  1. #31
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,534
    I will second what José wrote. As I recall, the docs with the Aura plugin assume essentially no Aura knowledge.

    The briefest possible description, off the top of my head:
    • If your foreground and background imagery are "D1" (720x486) or thereabouts, you would open a new NTSC D1 Aura project. Or your imagery might be 800x600, for example, which if memory serves would also be fine.

    • Import the 'furthest back' image as the bottom layer in the Aura project, and the foreground as the top layer.

    • Create a new empty layer between these.

    • Then use the LiveSet Brush Creator plugin (from Aura's Plugins menu) to make that a 'full screen' LiveSet layer. Rename that layer "Input" (without the quotes).

    That's the basic setup - open the LiveSet Creator plugin dialog, enable LiveMatte for "Input", supply "Scene" and "Shot" names, choose a suitable path for the files and create the LiveSet. Afterward, move the resulting files into the VSFX folder on your TriCaster.
    Last edited by SBowie; 10-13-2010 at 12:26 PM.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  2. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    4
    Dear Friends of NewTek,
    We have four TriCaster studio and we need the updated LiveSet constructor to generate some scenarios, as all products have entered the registration page downloads and made the constructor LiveSet 1.0, installed it generates no more, how can I solve this problem?

  3. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    4
    please send email to LiveSet constructor: [email protected]
    what's in the downloads page is not working.

  4. #34
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,534
    Quote Originally Posted by henrique freita View Post
    what's in the downloads page is not working.
    I'm sorry you are having difficulty.

    The original "LiveSet Constructor" is listed in TriCaster™ downloads* as “TriCaster LiveSet Constructor “, and in VT[5] downloads* as “NewTek SkyBox LiveSet Constructor VT[5]”. This basic tool has not been updated, and continues to work as before - to create simple LiveSets for use with SD model TriCasters.

    It isn't broken, so if it is not working for you there must be something wrong with your method. Please describe the problem(s) you are encountering, and I'm sure someone will help.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  5. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    4
    Dear Regards, Steve
    after I downloaded the file in the downloads page of NewTek, installed on my pc LiveSet constructor, then pulled into a space for forenground psd file (alpha) 720 x 486 and space for the backgound a png also with the size of 720 x 486, put the name of the file that will be generated and push the button to generate the file only appears more vfx all, what is happening?

  6. #36
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    4
    Dear Regards, Steve
    You can generate this scenario for us because we are in dire need, if possible give me your email so I can send files (psd and png). NewTek believe very much in the products that our TV station here in Brazil is all based on equipment NewTek, TriCaster Studio and 4 are two video toaster 5.3. I appreciate your understanding and cooperation, we will help.

  7. #37
    George Collins n9103h's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    104
    Hi,
    I have found using live set generator pretty easy and really fast now.
    What I do in photoshop is to make 3 layers.
    1. any background
    2. full image of set
    3. full image of set

    In layer 3 now I erase everything I don't want as my forground. ex. stage with podium. I remove everything around the podium clean at the edges. this is all at 720x480 or 486 your choice 300 dpi.
    I save layer 2 as a gif with Transparency even thought there are no changes to the image.
    I save layer 3 as a gif with Transparency

    All is done.
    I start the liveset generator and put the forground as the foreground and the background as the background. Save it to the folder I want then in liveset I select that "set" I just made, drop my chroma green screen, color key it, walk in to my set, put my hands on a music stand that is behind the image of the podium and start my talking points.

    That is a way I found that works for me and it is really fast. I hope it helps, I struggled for days which I do not have because I am running for office. I needed a set, yesterday. You can check out the first one I made this way, I was in a hurry so please don't laugh to hard.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uE9pUB4Tmo0 if you can see the yourtube link, I cut the person out and rebuilt the wall and picture. Crude, but it made my point.
    George

  8. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    161
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    For LiveSet 2.0 (TCXD sets), to author a LiveSet you need as a minimum an art package capable of creating HDR imagery (and basic knowledge on how to use the app), and the LiveSet Compiler SK, to actually create the LiveSet files from images created in the other application. (The LiveSet Compiler has its own docs).
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post

    For those who want an easier approach, and who can manage by simply modifying existing LiveSets, the upcoming TriCaster Virtual Set editor will be the answer.


    So what program would I need to create HDR images, and where do I find the LiveSet Compiler SK? And how soon is "upcoming"?

  9. #39
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,534
    Quote Originally Posted by psievers View Post
    So what program would I need to create HDR images
    Well, LW will do it, and so will Fusion. I'm really not sure about Photoshop. Others may have some less expensive suggestions to offer.

    Quote Originally Posted by psievers View Post
    So what program would I need to create HDR imagesand where do I find the LiveSet Compiler SK?
    Please see: http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106565

    Quote Originally Posted by psievers View Post
    So what program would I need to create HDR imagesand where do I find the LiveSet Compiler SK? And how soon is "upcoming"?
    I'd really prefer not to guess (beyond what the press release said), sorry. Forced to hint, I'd shy away from the word "imminent", but feel more comfortable with "fairly soon". (I don't suppose that helps at all.)
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  10. #40
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    161
    not so much, but thanks for the update!

  11. #41
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,335
    Quote Originally Posted by SBowie View Post
    Well, LW will do it, and so will Fusion. I'm really not sure about Photoshop. Others may have some less expensive suggestions to offer.
    Fusion should not be used at this time as it saves with AA and this affects the NewTek textures for the creation of EXR images for the use in the LiveSet compiler. I am working on a fix but in the mean time, I do not recommend Fusion

    Note: The NewTek texture is a UVW image and needs for every pixel to stay in tact so as to map the video feed onto each pixel. This is why no AA can be used in the final render.

    Take care,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  12. #42
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,534
    Quote Originally Posted by joseburgos View Post
    Fusion should not be used at this time as it saves with AA and this affects the NewTek textures for the creation of EXR images for the use in the LiveSet compiler.
    Actually, it works just fine, José.

    I ran into the same issue when writing the docs for the compiler, and added the following notes on overcoming the problem to the instructions:

    We mentioned earlier that images supplied to the compiler must be prepared in a full precision floating point file (i.e., FP32 not FP16) format, such as .EXR. To prevent video mapping errors, it is very important that the export settings you use when saving image files for compiling do not compress or clip the color range in any way.
    By default, Fusion's OpenEXR saver uses compression. Disable that and you're good ...
    Last edited by SBowie; 11-16-2010 at 09:36 AM.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  13. #43
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,335
    What what what (as my children would say)?
    Steve if this is true you have made my day. I just looked at the live set doc PDF and nothing there or in the live set creation SDK folder. Could you pretty please send me your notes?
    With much love,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

  14. #44
    'the write stuff' SBowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The stars at night are big and bright
    Posts
    19,534
    Quote Originally Posted by joseburgos View Post
    What what what (as my children would say)?
    Steve if this is true you have made my day. I just looked at the live set doc PDF and nothing there or in the live set creation SDK folder. Could you pretty please send me your notes?
    The quote in my prev. post is from the compiler instructions (maybe you've got an older copy)? Regardless, just turn off the compression settings for Fusion's EXR saver and you should be good (it drove me crazy until I figured it out).

    Edit - oh yeah, also - set "Clipping Mode" in the EXR saver export tab to None - that's critical.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	exr.png 
Views:	232 
Size:	18.3 KB 
ID:	90009   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	exr2.png 
Views:	211 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	90010  
    Last edited by SBowie; 11-16-2010 at 10:54 AM.
    --
    Regards, Steve
    Forum Moderator
    ("You've got to ask yourself one question ... 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya, spammer?")

  15. #45
    LiveSet Making Machine joseburgos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,335
    If I ever have another child, I'm going to name him Steve
    I am in the middle of a masses render on all machines so as soon as it's done, I'm going to test this. Man this will save me so much time.
    Thank you very much as I was looking at it from all kinds of ways like saving with final quality off and a bunch of otherthings that I would have never thought of that.

    Take care pal,
    Jose Burgos
    NewTek Certified Trainer
    NewTek Certified on all TriCaster's
    NewTek Training & Certification Testing
    www.burgosfx.com
    FaceBook
    Twitter @NYTriCaster

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •