PDA

View Full Version : textures not showing up

jrioux
06-26-2009, 02:29 PM
I'm new to Lightwave 9.6 on a Mac (10.5 Intel). I've worked with Lightwave 8.5 (Mac, Intel, 10.4) but never encountered this problem until now.

Upon having created a texture for an object and then sending the object to Layout, it shows up in Layout w/o texturing. Upon reopening it in Modeler, the same is true (even though "Textured Shaded" is selected for the viewport).

Old objects (created with 8.5) seem unaffected. I'm concerned about doing much more modeling in case my textures are not preserved...

Any help would be very much appreciated!

jrioux
06-26-2009, 05:40 PM
"Textured shaded solid" and "shaded solid" look identical in the Lightwave viewport... (surely that's not normal?) And in Modeler, I can sometimes get textures to appear, but in grayscale, not color...

Is this a known problem? Has anyone come cross this before?

Scazzino
06-26-2009, 06:31 PM
Could be a hub issue... I generally don't use the hub and turn it off...

jrioux
06-26-2009, 06:38 PM
Could be a hub issue... I generally don't use the hub and turn it off...

I think I knew how to do that on 8.5, but not 9.6. Suggestions?

Scazzino
06-26-2009, 06:54 PM
Just rename the hub to something else like HIDE-Hub, before launching Layout and/or Modeler.

jrioux
06-26-2009, 06:59 PM
Just rename the hub to something else like HIDE-Hub, before launching Layout and/or Modeler.

No, it wasn't a hub problem... but, I went into OpenGL options and clicked on Multitexture and the texture came back... once! Then it was gone again... Could it be a graphics card thing? I have an Nvidia Geforce GT 120.

dwburman
06-27-2009, 10:17 PM
I haven't had that problem so it may just be something with your setup. If you're using nodes to place your image maps they might not show up but I'm guessing that, since your new to the v9 series, you've stuck with the classic layers system.