PDA

View Full Version : IK Boost Problem

Ty Catt
06-25-2009, 08:26 AM
Or at least maybe IK Boost.

Here's my situation. I got a client who loves a 3D model that WAS NOT created in a T pose.

I tried to repose the model in Modeler, but the character is clothed, and I'm getting tons of different layer poke through problems.

So can I just "rig" the model into position?

If I rig the model in it's "wrong position", apply IK Boost, then move an arm, the whole torso goes with it.

I'm betting that I'm I supposed to rest the model before IK Boost or something similar. I'm not sure. I thought when the rig is created, it is at rest!

I'm still kind of new to this, using Kurv's IK Booster tutorial. I am only having problems with this non T posed guy and I can't decide where it went wrong!

Any ideas?

Tried weight maps, still didn't do it. And Falloff Type to 128.

Thanks!

Tyler

3dWannabe
06-25-2009, 08:52 AM
I've got SplineGod/Kurv's IK Boost DVD - and am learning IK Boost.

I found this useful also:
http://ikboost.com/category/learn/

He's got a specific tutorial on rig sharing which might be useful to you, shows using a different character with your rig - and the steps needed (such as resting the bones).

http://ikboost.com/learn/video-tutorial-introduction-to-ik-boost-part-4-rig-sharing/

Scazzino
06-25-2009, 10:30 AM
Right, the deformation has to do with the bones and resting them (which is like attaching them to the mesh) before moving them. IK Boost really only has to do with moving the bones to pose them, the deformations are handled by the bones, not IK Boost. The mesh would deform the same way if you moved the bones with or without IK Boost.

Ty Catt
06-25-2009, 10:37 AM
OK, I see...

Here's what I'm doing...

I load the character into Layout, I add the bones the normal way (with Child Bones).

Select all the bones and hit R to activate them.

If I rotate any bone, the mesh follows.

Do I rest them somewhere in there? Aren't they rested?