PDA

View Full Version : reel trouble...

Sarford
06-23-2009, 10:03 AM
Hi guys,

I've made a mini show reel, mainly for my brother, who works at a London ad agency, to show around at his job.

I'm working on a bigger reel with more animation and also stills, comps etc. but that will take a few extra months at least before its finished. So I want to see if I can use this reel to get some freelance gigs in games or film/commercials.

Can the professionals here (especialy people who (co-)decide on hirering) please tell me if this reel is any good?
Does this mini reel give you some confidence that I could do the job?
Is it too long or too short?
Does it look amateurisch and should I forget professional work with such a reel?
Am I better off waiting for my big reel to finish?
Is this perfect and you wanna give me a job?

Right now I'm an independant graphic designer, but I wanna change professions. I'm a bit fed up with my job now and have always wanted to work in games and film. I've seen many show reels on the net, but the quality differs so much... As this is my first show reel, I wanna know if I'm going in the right direction.

So, be frank and don't hold back.

See my reel here on Vimeo (http://www.vimeo.com/5290666)

adamredwoods
06-23-2009, 11:31 AM
It's amateurish for animation, but it's good for modeling and rendering.

DO NOT put that feminine guy character in, as the quality of the character animation just wasn't there (watch more Pixar). Something like that should never go first-- always your BEST stuff first!

Also, the shot with the balloon was too long. There wasn't much animation with it anyways, but it looked great as a still.

Show more of your rendering and modeling work. Do more 360 rotations of models. Modeling is a common way to start in an industry, then you can work your way up to animator.

cresshead
06-23-2009, 12:15 PM
here goes...i watched with the sound off btw as many people will also not have the volume up when watching..