PDA

View Full Version : Should I jump ship

dankayaker
06-16-2009, 08:26 AM
I've been using LW for a few years (on a very part time basis) . . .never mastered it, often frustrated by it, but know just enough to be dangerous.

My question is, given that I don't have that much time invested in LW yet . . should I jump to another package ? I really want to get competent in 3D.
I come from the video production world and am fluent in AE, FCP . . .etc . . . . but I really want to learn a package that allows for particle generation and special FX plus the obvious high quality 3D functionality.

I took a stab at Maya a couple years back, and have a current version . . should I try again ?

Guidance needed.
thanks

PS. I'm on Macs.

Nicolas Jordan
06-16-2009, 08:37 AM
In my opinion if you can't stick with one program and learn it then you won't stick with any of them to learn them to a good level of proficiency. Just my thoughts based on what i have seen over the years. If it's particles you want to play with then Lightwave has them and they should be adequate for most of your needs. I say stick with Lightwave and learn it especially if you have already invested your money in it.

Matt
06-16-2009, 08:39 AM
Honestly, we can't answer this for you.

Figure out what you want to do.

Find the packages that fit the bill and allow you to do what you want to do.

Try out the demos until you find a match for your workflow.

It's the only way.

- - -

Which is why I use _LightWave_ I find it's workflow to be the best for what I want to do, should that change drastically and offer nothing better in future, I'll probably look at Modo 401.

But that's just me, each to their own and all that.

dankayaker
06-16-2009, 08:43 AM