PDA

View Full Version : Rig Controls: Auto-select Rotate/Translate?



BlueApple
06-15-2009, 03:43 PM
Doing some rigging and using nulls to drive bones and other things. On most of the nulls I only have rotation or translation available.

Is there a way to have the user's tool automatically switch to whatever channels are available on the selected item?

For example, imagine you are in Layout and have the Move tool selected. You then click on a null that only allows you to rotate on H and B. After clicking on the null, the Move tool is dropped and the Rotate tool is auto-selected.

Is this already in Layout, or is their a way to set this up through scripting?

Castius
06-15-2009, 03:59 PM
These things can be hard to find. Thankfully the Lightwave community is generous.

http://www.flay.com/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1386
http://thespread.faulknermano.com/_theoldspread/ToolTrackerMC.zip

BlueApple
06-15-2009, 04:08 PM
Thanks for the links, Castius. I have limited internet access at work and can't Google things here. I will check out those resources at home.

Appreciate the assistance.