PDA

View Full Version : Surface Baker



DrStrik9
06-13-2009, 01:06 PM
OK, I'm feeling like the problem child here, but please bear with me ...

It's been a long time since I used Surface Baker ... In an attempt to solve a changing procedural texture problem from one Layout session to the next -- http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99498 -- I read up on Surface Baker and gave it a try. (You can get the object, with the procedural texture saved in that thread.)

Wow, it is SLOOOOW! And you can't multi-thread, so it's even SLOWER. (Time to bring it into the current century, methinks.)

But the real issue I'm having is that it delivers a BLACK image! Why?

The texture in question is 0% diffuse, but 200% luminosity, so it should show up, right? What's the secret to getting Surface Baker to actually work?

Thanks for any guidance ...

DrStrik9
06-13-2009, 01:12 PM
see attached screen shot

Mr Rid
06-13-2009, 02:39 PM
Use the surface baking camera in LW instead. Its easier, faster, creamier, smoother.

DrStrik9
06-13-2009, 04:13 PM
Use the surface baking camera in LW instead. Its easier, faster, creamier, smoother.

THANKS! :-)

Interestingly, the Surface Baker Camera won't allow me to render anything larger than 6000x6000 ... it just says "Error: Image Creation Failed."

Is this a limit in LW, or do I need more than the 10 GB ram installed in this machine?

Hopefully 6K square will do the trick ...