PDA

View Full Version : New Website Design

Carm3D
05-31-2009, 04:12 AM
Hiya,

I've just designed the framework for my new HTML website. Enjoy! :)

Carm3D
05-31-2009, 08:25 AM
Here (http://www.carm3d.net/index2009.htm) is a test page with all of the elements chopped up and assembled into a web page. You can see how the elements stretch dynamically with your browser. It doesn't look so hot in internet explorer. It's perfect in Mozilla. Well perfect except for one thing... My external style sheet isn't loading.. Which would make the page background black and remove the border padding of the page. Any html experts out there see why it's not working?

BlueApple
05-31-2009, 06:23 PM
I'm no expert with html, but your page returns 7 errors and 4 warnings if you try to validate it.

http://validator.w3.org/

At a glance I didn't spot a difference between Safari and Firefox on the Mac. If you post in the Dreamweaver forum you'll likely get a useful response. I've found those folks to be very helpful.

The sloth and flowers look great. Nice work.

Carm3D
05-31-2009, 06:48 PM
Thanks Blue. Interesting utility there.. I read the list of errors and such for my page and determined that these guys are being ridiculously picky. I fixed a few of them but I'm not gonna bother for them all. I mean... It faulted me for not putting an XML thingie in the header. But I'm not using XML on my page! I added the missing doctype tag and it responded with an increased number of errors. Sheesh.

It works on IE, Firefox, Opera.. Google Chrome... Safari.. that's good enough for me.

BTW I've solved the problem I was talking about earlier. Now I'm designing the menu system.

BlueApple
05-31-2009, 06:54 PM
Awesome, keep us posted.

Adobe's page returns way more errors than yours, and they actually make web design software so I think you're probably ok. The validator is a nice place to stop by as it usually points out big problems in addition to the "small" ones.

Carm3D
05-31-2009, 07:05 PM