PDA

View Full Version : Render Farm hookup question

virtualcomposer
05-26-2009, 07:55 AM
At work I'm using a pretty fast PC but there are two other computers I can use as well. I was wondering if I can just hook them up through firewire or is it more complicated then that? I'm new at the whole render farm thing. Thanks.

Sensei
05-26-2009, 08:12 AM
IMHO not many people have experience setting up multi-platform render farm.. Better ask it on Macintosh forums..
LW built-in ScreamerNet is transfering data by writing them to shared directory in LAN, readable-writable by both computers..

virtualcomposer
05-26-2009, 08:54 AM
IMHO not many people have experience setting up multi-platform render farm.. Better ask it on Macintosh forums..
LW built-in ScreamerNet is transfering data by writing them to shared directory in LAN, readable-writable by both computers..

is it pretty easy to set up?

Sensei
05-26-2009, 09:17 AM
"Pretty easy" is relative to person.. ;)
If you know how to write MS-DOS batch files etc. general computer knowledge, you should be able to do it..

rezman
05-26-2009, 10:35 AM
There are many tutorials out there, even video tutes...and they are very good. But there is always some degree of pain in setting up screamernet.

Here are my hyperquick tips for what it's worth.

- The computers need to be on the same network
- Each computer needs its own batch file, nothing more
- The main computer needs A full Lightwave install
- Lightwave needs to be in a network friendly location. That is, no spaces and a mapped drive
- Map that same drive on the slave computers
- Here is an example of the bat file:

cd L:\Programs
LWSN.exe -2 -cL:\config L:\command\job1 L:\command\ack1

[Explanation of the bat file. L: is where Lightwave is installed, no subdirectory. job1 and ack1 will need to be changed for each computer. So job2 ack2, job3 ack3 etc...everything else the same]