PDA

View Full Version : 4:3 render is boxed in.



Chris M.
05-22-2009, 04:35 PM
Hi. I'm trying to render an uncompressed .avi file to DVD 4X3 480i VBR 7mbps. The resulting file looks stretched and letterboxed as a thumbnail in the filebin and on the timeline it plays out to my 4:3 monitor with black bars all the way around. What am I doing wrong? I need to get this done. Sorry if this is a no-brainer. I'm confused because I did a render to SpeedHQ last week and it worked fine.

I am not customizing the render. Just trying to use the preset.
Thanks.

billmi
05-22-2009, 08:45 PM
If you have set your project to 16:9, and put a 4:3 clip in the project, then render to 4:3, your video will be pillarboxed from the 4:3 clip sitting in a 16:9 project, then letterboxed from rendering the 16:9 project to 4:3 - black border all around.

Try opening a new project - making sure it's 4:3, and see if you still have the problem.

Chris M.
05-26-2009, 04:18 PM
Yup. That was it. Thanks. I'm still having problems with the project thing. The VT seems to create projects all the time without my authorization.
Cheers